FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session	THE REPUBLIC)))	OFFICE OF	- Chetany
•	SENATE P.S. Res. No. 1215		JUL 22 P5:39
Introduced	by Senator Manuel "Lito" N) BY :_

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHILIPPINE TEAM C COMPOSED OF ELVIS JEREMY AYROSO, PAOLO MANUEL IYULORES, JANSSEN KOTAH AND HANZ VLADIMIR CABANES FOR EARNING THE MERIT AWARD IN THE TEAM CATEGORY COMPETITIONS AT THE 10TH INVITATIONAL WORLD YOUTH MATHEMATICS INTER-CITIES COMPETITION (IWYMIC) IN DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA ON 5-10 JULY 2009.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to exemplary Filipino students for their outstanding achievements in bringing home pride and honor to the country by becoming champions in international competitions;

WHEREAS, Philippine Team C composed of Elvis Jeremy Ayroso of the Philippine Science High School-Manila, Paolo Manuel Iyulores of the Ateneo de Manila High School, Janesen Kotah of Philippine Cultural College and Hanz Vladimir Cabanes of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School was given the merit award at the 10th Invitational World Youth Mathematics Inter-Cities Competition (IWYMIC) in Durban, South Africa on 5-10 July 2009;

WHEREAS, the Invitational World Youth Mathematics Inter-Cities Competition (IWYMIC), now on its 10th year, was participated in by 228 high school students from 19 countries including Canada, China, Australia, Bulgaria, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, South Korea, Netherlands, Nigeria, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, and the Philippines;

WHEREAS, the distinction garnered by our Filipino math wizards show that with proper training, Filipino students can excel in the field of mathematics and can ably compete with their foreign counterparts;

WHEREAS, this excellent performance displayed by our Filipino students has renewed our determination to further develop and improve our educational system and establish the Philippines as a breeding ground for globally competitive mathematicians.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend members of Philippine Team C composed of Elvis Jeremy

Ayroso, Paolo Manuel Iyulores, Janssen Kotah And Hanz Vladimir Cabanes for earning the merit award in the team category competitions at the 10th Invitational World Youth Mathematics Inter-Cities Competition (IWYMIC) in Durban, South Africa on 5-10 July 2009.

Adopted,