FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session



11 AUG 16 P3:28

SENATE

RECEIPTION BY:

P.S. Res. No. 564

Introduced by SENATOR LOREN B. LEGARDA

RESOLUTION

HONORING AND COMMENDING THE METROBANK FOUNDATION OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2011 FOR THEIR EXEMPLARY COMPETENCE, DEDICATION TO SERVICE, AND COMMITMENT IN PROVIDING QUALITY EDUCATION

WHEREAS, teachers are considered the heart of our educational system, heralded as the molders of our children's future, and among the most prized leaders of the country;

WHEREAS, amidst the difficulties our Filipino teachers are facing because of meager salaries and benefits and the deplorable condition of many of our school buildings, teaching materials and equipment, they remain reliable and dedicated in their duty of educating the youth;

WHEREAS, despite the valuable contribution of our teachers to the advancement of the country, their efforts continue to be largely unacknowledged and oftentimes taken for granted;

WHEREAS, paying homage to the country's unrecognized heroes, Metrobank Foundation has, for the past 27 years, given recognition to some of our country's educators through its annual search for outstanding teachers;

WHEREAS, these Outstanding Teachers' work has not only helped uplift the status of learning in the country, but has also made an enduring mark on the lives of their students;

WHEREAS, we give honor to the teaching profession, the noblest of all vocations;

WHEREAS, this year's 10 outstanding teachers chosen by the Metrobank Foundation are:

MRS. MARCELA E. JINGCO

Angeles Elementary School, Angeles City

MRS. LORA E. AÑAR

Bukidnon State University, Malaybalay City

DR. TEODORA D. CONDE Andres Bonifacio Elementary School, City of Manila

MRS. DJHOANE C. AGUILAR Panabo Central Elementary School, Panabo City

DR. CHELO C. TANGAN Cagayan National High School, Tuguegarao City

MR. BUENAVENTURA D. LUCES Lusacan National High School, Tiaong, Quezon

MRS. VILMA C. AMBAT Baguio City National High School, Baguio City

MRS. MARICEL S. FRANCO Nueva Vizcaya General Comprehensive High School Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya

DR. JERICHO THADDEUS P. LUNA University of the Philippines – Manila, City of Manila

DR. ALLAN B. DE GUZMAN

University of Santo Tomas, City of Manila

WHEREAS, Congress recognizes the need to improve the country's quality of education by making a genuine effort to motivate our teachers, re-train them and reward them for their life's work;

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Philippines, to honor and commend the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers of 2011 for their exemplary competence, dedication to service, and commitment in providing quality education.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA Senator