FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session

, **Y** 



"11 NUG 22 P5:24

SENATE

)

)

)

P.S. Res. No. 573

Introduced by Senator Edgardo J. Angara

## 

## RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2011 METROBANK FOUNDATION AWARDEES FOR OUTSTANDING TEACHERS

WHEREAS, the Search for the Outstanding Teachers is a prestigious annual search undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. since 1985, and done jointly with the Department of Education, and the Commission on Higher Education;

WHEREAS, to be recognized as an Outstanding Teacher by the Foundation with its partner institutions, is one of the highest honor an educator in the Philippines can receive, and those selected joins the ranks of the 296 Outstanding Teachers of the Philippines already honored, and automatically becomes members of the Network of Outstanding Teachers and Educators;

WHEREAS, the SOT acknowledges the enduring commitment, selflessness and dedication of exemplary educators in our country;

WHEREAS, education has long been recognized as key in the development and progress of any civilized society, and the educators and teachers are the instruments with which such development and progress may be achieved;

WHEREAS, from a list of 175 nominees, coming from both public and private sectors, only a handful of 10 outstanding educators were selected, where four (4) were from the elementary level, another four (4) were from the secondary level, and two (2) are from the higher education institutions;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate wishes to express its gratitude and admiration of the fine men and women of the academe who tirelessly pursue the vocation of teaching the Filipino youth, despite all the challenges in the Philippine educational system, and in pursuit of the improvement of the lives of their students, their community and their country;

Now, therefore BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Philippines, as it hereby resolves to honor and commend The Outstanding Teachers of 2011 as chosen by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., DepEd and CHED, namely:

- 1. Mrs. Marcela Jingco (Angeles Elementary School),
- 2. Mrs. Lora Anar (Bukidnon State University),
- 3. Dr. Teodora Conde (Andres Bonifacio Elementary School)

- 4. Mrs. Djhoane Aguilar (Panabo Central Elementary School);
- 5. Dr. Chelo Tangan (Cagayan National High School),
- 6. Mr. Buenaventura Luces (Lusacan National High School),
- 7. Mrs. Vilma Ambat (Baguio City National High School)
- 8. Mrs. Maricel Franco (Nueva Vizcaya General Comprehensive High School);
- 9. Dr. Jericho Thaddeus Luna (University of the Philippines, Manila)
- 10. Dr. Allan De Guzman (University of Sto. Tomas);

Adopted,

· ¥

.

EDGARDO J ANGARA Senator