

FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)
Second Regular Session)

'11 AUG 23 P1:40

SENATE

P. S. Res. No. 574



INTRODUCED BY SENATOR VILLAR

RESOLUTION

COMMENDING THE 2011 AWARDEES OF THE SEARCH FOR OUTSTANDING TEACHERS (SOT), THE OUTSTANDING PHILIPPINE SOLDIERS (TOPS) AND THE COUNTRY'S OUTSTANDING POLICEMEN IN SERVICE (COPS) GIVEN BY METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC. IN HONOR OF FILIPINO PUBLIC SERVANTS THAT EMBODY EXCELLENCE, COMPETENCE AND PROFESSIONALISM IN THEIR LINE OF WORK

Whereas, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., the corporate social responsibility arm of the Metrobank Group, was established by its chairman Dr. George S.K. Ty in 1979:

Whereas, through the years, the Foundation has promoted a culture of excellence among Filipinos through its various programs, such as the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), The Outstanding Philippine Soldier (TOPS), and the Country's Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS):

Whereas, the SOT Awards started in 1985, intended to nurture "a culture of excellence and service among educators through professional development, publications, research, and advocacy in active partnership with government and non-government organizations";

Whereas, TOPS is an annual search jointly undertaken by the Rotary Club of Makati and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. which is aimed at "honoring excellence among the men and women in the military as an expression of the civilian sector's appreciation and gratitude for our soldiers' selfless acts of gallantry in preserving our nation's sovereignty";

Whereas, the COPS Awards is a partnership between Metrobank Foundation and the Rotary Club of New Manila East which "seeks to identify gallant men and women in the police force who are able to work with the community to prevent and solve crime";

Whereas, this year's search produced a total of 28 awardees collectively called the Outstanding Filipinos-Metrobank Exemplars;

Whereas, the SOT Awardees in the elementary category are: Mrs. Marcela E. Jingco, Mrs. Lora E. Añar, Dr. Teodora D. Conde, and Mrs.Djhoane C. Aguilar;

Whereus, SOT award recipients in the secondary category are Dr. Chelo C. Tangan, Mr. Buenaventura D. Luces, Mrs. Vilma C. Ambat and Mrs. Maricel S. Franco while Dr. Jericho Thaddeus P. Luna and Dr. Allan B. De Guzman in the higher education category:

Whereas, the ten TOPS awardees are namely: Col. Daniel A. Lucero (commissioned officer), Master Sgt. Sixto P. Navarrosa and Chief Master Sgt. Billy C. Benebile (enlisted personnel) from the Philippine Army; Col. Alexander F. Balutan (commissioned officer), Technical Sgt. Rommel V. Carbon and Data Processor 3 Jairus M. Cenabre (enlisted personnel) from the Philippine Navy; Col. Raul L. Del Rosario (commissioned officer), Master Sgt. Maria Teresa M. Bitong and Master Sgt. Nelson S. Mercado (enlisted personnel) from the Philippine Air Force; and lastly, National Development Award (Technical Services) for Col. Alexis D. Tamondong (commissioned officer);

Whereas, COPS awardees are as follows: P/Supt. Steve Bentican Ludan, PC/Insp. Delia Jacob Ingalla, P/Supt. Samuel Pomasin Turla (police commissioned officers); SPO1 Manuel Almadrigo Padlan, SPO4 Emmanuel Portillo Isiang, PO3 Rodel Umaclad Alcano, PO2 Rina De La Cruz Salaya and SPO2 Helen Lapay Dela Cruz (non-commissioned officers): Now therefore be it

RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved, to commend the 2011 Awardees of the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS) and the Country's Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS) given by Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in honor of Filipino public servants that embody excellence, competence and professionalism in their line of work.

Adopted,

2