FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session)



*11 AUG 22 P3:11

SENATE Senate Bill No. 2945

RECEIVE BY: 2

Introduced by Senator Lacson

EXPLANATORY NOTE

Section 5, paragraphs (3) and (4), of Article VI of the 1987 Constitution expressly provides:

- "(3) Each legislative district shall comprise, as far as practicable, contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory. Each city with a population of at least two hundred fifty thousand, or each province, shall have at least one representative."
- "(4) Within three years following the return of every census, the Congress shall make a reapportionment of legislative districts based on the standards provided in this section."

The Province of North Cotabato is the biggest province among the four (4) provinces of Region XII in terms of land area. According to the 2007 National Census and Statistics Office, as of August 1, 2007, the Province of North Cotabato had a population of 1,121,974. However, there are only two (2) legislative districts in North Cotabato. It is therefore clearly underrepresented in the House of Representatives.

Based on the above-mentioned Constitutional provision and in the interest of proper democratic and proportional representation, this bill proposes to reapportion the Province of North Cotabato from the present two (2) legislative districts to three (3) legislative districts. Based on the geographical and population requirements of the Constitution, the following are proposed to comprise the three (3) legislative districts:

- A. First District Municipalities of Pikit, Pigkawayan, Alamada, Libungan, Midsayap and Aleosan;
- B. Second District Municipalities of Makilala, Magpet, Kidapawan, Roxas, Antipas and Arakan;
- C. Third District Municipalities of Banisilan, Carmen, Kabacan, Matalam, Mlang and Tulunan.

In light of the foregoing, the passage of this bill is earnestly requested.

Panfilo W.Lacson Senator

FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session)



"11 AUG 22 P3:11

RECEIVED BY: 2

SENATE Senate Bill No. 2945

Introduced by Senator Lacson

AN ACT REAPPORTIONING THE PROVINCE OF COTABATO INTO THREE (3) LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION. 1. Legislative Districts. – The Province of Cotabato, shall have three (3) legislative districts to commence in the next national elections after the effectivity of this Act. Henceforth, the following shall be the new legislative districts in the Province of Cotabato:

- A. First District Municipalities of Pikit, Pigkawayan, Alamada, Libungan, Midsayap and Aleosan;
- B. Second District Municipalities of Makilala, Magpet, Kidapawan, Roxas, Antipas and Arakan;
- C. Third District Municipalities of Banisilan, Carmen, Kabacan, Matalam, Mlang and Tulunan.
- SEC. 2. Rules and Regulations. The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.
- SEC. 3. Repealing Clause. All laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.
- SEC. 4. Effectivity. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,