| | P.S. RES. NO. 1317 | | <i>j</i> . |
|------------------------|--------------------|-------------------------|--------------|
| | SENATE | 9 | AUG 25 P2:56 |
| Third Regular Session |) | | |
| OF THE PHILIPPINES | .) | ., | |
| FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF | THE REPUBLIC) | € 3 60 900 - | s _ 1 · |

RESOLUTION

Introduced by Senate President Enrile

HONORING AND COMMENDING THE TEN (10) WINNERS OF THE 2009 METROBANK FOUNDATION SEARCH FOR OUTSTANDING TEACHERS

WHEREAS, as partners of the government in nation-building, teachers play a meaningful role in fostering patriotism and nationalism among the youth and in accelerating social progress and promoting total human liberation and development in the country;

WHEREAS, amidst economic uncertainties and limited resources, the Filipino teachers continue to shine as models of flexibility and intellectual prowess, ably guiding students in achieving their dreams and in preparing for their future;

WHEREAS, in recognition of the important part the teachers play, Section 5 (5), Article XIV of the Constitution provides that "[t]he State shall ... ensure that teaching will attract and retain its rightful share of the best available talents through adequate remuneration and other means of job satisfaction and fulfillment";

WHEREAS, as a fitting tribute to these living heroes, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has once again bestowed upon the country's ten (10) outstanding teachers, who have manifested profound commitment to the development of the youth as useful and responsible citizens and demonstrated exemplary skills in literacy instructions in the classrooms and effective educational leadership;

WHEREAS, with unwavering dedication and commitment to impart their knowledge and expertise, these members of the teaching profession, undeniably, have illumined the way, nurtured and cultivated the minds of the youth to help them conquer the global competition;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines joins the respective schools and communities of the awardees and the entire nation in exalting the highly respected members of the teaching profession for their significant contributions in molding the minds of the youth as the country's future leaders and in preparing them against the challenges of global changes: Now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, To honor and commend, as it hereby honors and commends the ten (10) winners of the 2009 Metrobank Foundation Search for Outstanding Teachers, namely:

MRS. LOURDES L. MATAN Mag-Ubay Elementary School Calbayog City

MRS. GEMMA G. CORTES
Dasmarinas Elementary School
Dasmarinas, Cavite

MR. BENJAMIN M. MARTINEZ San Sebastian Elementary School Tarlac City

MRS. EVA B. IMINGAN Nellie E. Brown Elementary School Olongapo City

MS. SHENA FAITH M. GANELA Philippine Science High School Western Visayas Campus Jaro, Iloilo City

MRS. ROCHELLE D. PAPASIN Philippine Science High School Southern Mindanao Campus Davao City

MRS. MA. PETRA A. ROMUALDO Minapan High School North Cotabato

MR. ZOILO J. PINONGCOS, JR. Leganes National High School Iloilo City

DR. DINA JOANA S. OCAMPO University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City

DR. RAMON S. DEL FIERRO University of San Carlos Cebu City

RESOLVED, further, That copies of this Resolution be furnished to the 2009 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teacher-Awardees.

Adopted,

Senate President