FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC ) OF THE PHILIPPINES )	AMERICAN TO THE PROPERTY OF
Third Regular Session )	9 SEP 23 P4:13
SENATE	3 SCT &J 14.45
P.S. Res. No. <u>1377</u>	HECKARD OF A
Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M	M. Lapid

## .

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF THE PHILIPPINE DELEGATION FOR EARNING 6 SILVER AND 40 BRONZE MEDALS AND FOR WINNING THE BEST TEAM AWARD IN THE 2009 CHINA PRIMARY MATH OLYMPIAD ON 9-14 AUGUST 2009 AT TIANJIN, PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA.

RESOLUTION

**WHEREAS,** the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to exemplary Filipino students for their outstanding achievements in bringing home pride and honor to the country by becoming champions in international competitions;

WHEREAS, members of the Philippine delegation won 6 silver and 40 bronze medals and the best team award in the 2009 China Primary Math Olympiad on 9-14 August 2009 at Tianjin, People's Republic of China;

**WHEREAS,** the China Primary Math Olympiad was categorized as the second next difficult tournament after the International Math Olympiad;

WHEREAS, the distinction garnered by our Filipino math wizards show that with proper training, Filipino students can excel in the field of mathematics and can ably compete with their foreign counterparts;

**WHEREAS,** this excellent performance displayed by our Filipino students has renewed our determination to further develop and improve our educational system and establish the Philippines as a breeding ground for globally competitive mathematicians.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend the members of the Philippine delegation for earning 6 silver and 40 bronze medals and for winning the best team award in the 2009 China Primary Math Olympiad on 9-14 August 2009 at Tianjin, People's Republic of China, namely:

## Silver Medals

- 1. Jason Joseph B. Fernandez San Beda College Alabang
- 2. Aljan Balbuena Sen. Cayetano Memorial Sci & Tech High School
- 3. Hans Bryan Geremy Ong Grace Christian College
- 4. Jason Carlo Carranceja- Grace Christian College
- 5. Karli Ang- Philippine Institute of Quezon City
- 6. Jose Alfron Benedicto Batiles- Elizabeth Seton School South

## **Bronze Medals**

- 1. Miege Ernyl Alarcon San Beda College-Alabang
- 2. Timothy Gabriel Alarcon Southville International School & Colleges
- 3. Vince Roi Alvarez Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
- 4. Nathaniel Ryan Ang Philadelphia School
- 5. John Angel Aranas Maximo Estrella Elementary School
- 6. Harry Eugenio Ares Jr. Integrated Montessori Center
- 7. Nathanael Joshua Balete St. Stephen's High School
- 8. Vincent Jaime Benitez Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo
- 9. Irene Therese Bermejo Trinity Christian School
- 10. Hannah Faye Canonigo Integrated Montessori Center
- 11. Ethan Riley Chan Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
- 12. Marx Vincent Cobol Ateneo de Davao University
- 13. Niel Marc Dasas Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo
- 14. Joseph Maria Francis De Leon Blessed Lights International Christian Academy
- 15. Gail Denise Destura La Salle Academy
- 16. Royce Dy Kong Hua School
- 17. Angelo Miguel Eduarte St. Simon Montessori School
- 18. King James Fetalvero Ateneo de Davao University
- 19. AJ Wincielou Johanna Gabin Holy Spirit School Tagbilaran City
- 20. Jasmine Marie Gamboa St. John's Institute Bacolod
- 21. Thamania Keith Gumilao Pasig Catholic College
- 22. Anchelle Grace Ho Silliman University
- 23. Anna Francis Therese Jaruda West Visayas State University
- 24. Adrian Jude Jumangit Elizabeth Seton School-South
- 25. Karl Jan Kotah Philippine Cultural College
- 26. Marion Antonio Lim Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
- 27. Tonita Mari Lim Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
- 28. Ma. Louisa Madrid Cavite School of Life
- 29. Himig Marcos Philippine Cultural College
- 30. Rafael Adraino Nalupta Immaculate Conception Academy
- 31. Christian Rey Notario Guinobatan East Central School
- 32. Eloisa Jean Remoreras Victoriano D. Tirol Advanced Learning Center
- 33. Katrina Alexandra Renacia Silliman University
- 34. Miguel Luis Rivera Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
- 35. Akkiara Symonn May Sawali St. Augustine's School
- 36 Bianca Patrice Syching Iloilo Central Commercial High School
- 37. Ethan Fredric Tan Xavier School
- 38. Paolo Adrian Taneña SPED-ISEC
- 39. Justin Adriel Zent Togonon Children Integrated School of Alta Tierra
- 40. Patricia Marie Yap Iloilo Central Commercial High School.

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID Senator