FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES) Third Regular Session) SENATE P.S. Res. No. 1427

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF THE PHILIPPINE CONTINGENT FOR RECEIVING THE HIGHEST HONORS AND GARNERING PRESTIGIOUS AWARDS IN THE 2009 AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICS COMPETITION AWARDED ON 20 OCTOBER 2009 AT THE SOFITEL PHILIPPINE PLAZA MANILA, PASAY CITY, PHILIPPINES.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to exemplary Filipino students for their outstanding achievements in bringing home pride and honor to the country by becoming champions in international competitions;

WHEREAS, members of the Philippine contingent received the highest honors and garnered prestigious awards at the 2009 Australian Mathematics Competition administered in the country this year and awarded by representatives from the Australian Mathematics Competition on 20 October 2009 at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, Pasay City, Philippines;

WHEREAS, the Australian Mathematics Competition, a yearly international event sponsored by the Australian Mathematics Trust, is the largest single event on the Australian Education Calendar that aims to highlight the importance of mathematics as a curriculum subject, give students an opportunity to discover talent in mathematics and provide resources for the classroom and general discussion;

WHEREAS, the Australian Mathematics Competition provides a platform for students to put their mathematical aptitude to the test by answering 30 multiple choice questions, which cover arithmetic, algebra, geometry and problem-solving and are ordered in increasing difficulty, in 75 minutes;

WHEREAS, the distinction garnered by our Filipino math wizards show that with proper training, Filipino students can excel in the field of mathematics and can ably compete with their foreign counterparts;

WHEREAS, this excellent performance displayed by our Filipino students has renewed our determination to further develop and improve our educational system and establish the Philippines as a breeding ground for globally competitive mathematicians.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend the members of the Philippine contingent for receiving the highest honors and garnering prestigious awards in the 2009 Australian Mathematics Competition awarded on 20 October 2009 at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, Pasay City, Philippines, namely:

Outstanding Performance Award

- 1. Seanne Ng Saint Jude Catholic School
- 2. Justrin Edric Yturzaeta Jubilee Christian Academy
- 3. Julius Vincent Sy Stephen's High School
- 4. Amiel Sy Philippine Science High School Main Campus

AMC Prize Award (the highest award given to individuals at the top one percent of their competitors)

- 1. Adrian Sy Saint Jude Catholic School
- 2. Audrey Celine Lao Saint Jude Catholic School
- 3. Czarina Lao Saint Jude Catholic School
- 4. Lormes Pedeglorio Butuan City Special Education Center
- 5. Miguel Lorenzo Ildesa Parents for Education (PAREF) Westbridge School
- 6. Aldric Cristoval Reyes Chiang Kai Shek College
- 7. John Russel Virata Gideon Academy
- 8. Alvin Uy Lim Quezon City Science High School
- 9. Emiliano Tan Philippine Science High School Main Campus
- 10. Jake Gacuan University of the Philippines

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID
Senator