SIXTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session



"13 JUL 25 MIG :48

SENATE

)

)

)

Senate Resolution No. 106

Introduced by Senator LOREN LEGARDA

RESOLUTION

COMMENDING THE RECIPIENTS OF THE 2013 DEPARTMENT OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY-NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (DOST-NAST) AWARDS IN LIGHT OF THEIR EXEMPLARY AND OUTSTANDING WORK IN SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH, TECHNOLOGICAL APPLICATION AND SCIENCE ADMINISTRATION

WHEREAS, Article XIV, Section 10 of the 1987 Constitution provides that the State shall give priority to research and development, invention, innovation, and their utilization, and to science and technology education, training and services;

WHEREAS, our country abounds with innovative and creative scientists, engineers and inventors deserving of the nation's admiration and respect for their ground-breaking studies and inventions in the field of science and technology;

WHEREAS, the science and technology sector needs to be tapped and enriched to provide needed innovations to improve the lives of Filipinos;

WHEREAS, the Department of Science and Technology, in cooperation with the National Academy of Science and Technology—the country's highest advisory body on all matters concerning science and technology, institutionalized the DOST-NAST Awards to be awarded annually to select Filipino inventors and scientists for their outstanding works in the areas of basic research, technological application and in science administration;

WHEREAS, Dr. Waren N. Baticados of the University of the Philippines – Los Baños received the Eduardo A. Quisumbing Medal for Outstanding Research and Development Award on Basic Research for his molecular research and diagnostics of national priority protozoal and bacterial diseases of livestock and companion animals;

WHEREAS, Teresita J. Ramirez and her team comprised of Susan A. Sedano, Arsenia B. Sapin, Maria Teresa M. Perez and Reynaldo V. Ebora, also of the University of the Philippines – Los Baños, were given the Gregorio Y. Zara Medal for Outstanding Technology Commercialization Award for their work on salmonella DNA amplification for rapid detection of microorganisms in food;

WHEREAS, Dr. Amelia W. Tajeda of the National Food Authority was conferred the Dioscoro Umali Award for Outstanding Science Administrator, for her advocacy in food quality through science and technology research;

1

WHEREAS, it is imperative that research and development output of the local scientific community will be further sustained amidst the challenges posed by a degrading environment and changing climate;

WHEREAS, it is incumbent upon Congress to ensure that the works of our renowned scientists and inventors be recognized and given commendation, to give due honor to their dedication and commitment;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved, to commend the recipients of the 2013 Department of Science and Technology-National Academy of Science and Technology (DOST-NAST) Awards in light of their exemplary and outstanding work in scientific research, technological application and science administration.

2

í.,

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA Senator