

SENATE P. S. Res. No. 179 13 AUG-8 P4:39

RECEIVED BY:

Introduced by Senator Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay

#### RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE FILIPINO CONTESTANTS AND THEIR COACHES FOR WINNING THE OVERALL CHAMPIONSHIP IN THE ELEMENTARY CATEGORY OR KEY STAGE II DIVISION AT THE 2013 BULGARIA INTERNATIONAL MATHEMATICS COMPETITION HELD IN BURGAS, BULGARIA LAST 30 JUNE TO 5 JULY 2013.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in numerous occasions recognized and paid tribute to the exemplary and outstanding performance of Filipino students in raising the flag of the Philippines by winning international competitions;

WHEREAS, the 2013 Bulgaria International Mathematics Competition ("BIMC") had a total of twenty nine (29) country participants including Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Cyprus, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Philippines, Romania, Russia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, USA, Vietnam and Zimbabwe;

WHEREAS, the Philippine delegation in the 2013 BIMC won the overall championship in the elementary category or key stage II division;

WHEREAS, out of said twenty nine (29) countries that participated it was only the Philippines who had a delegate that scored a perfect score besting two hundred ninety two (292) contestants in the key stage II division in the person of Ms. Jinger Chong of St. Jude Catholic School:

WHEREAS, the Philippine delegation garnered a total of forty two (42) awards including five (5) gold medals, seven (7) silver medals, ten (10) bronze medals and eight (8) merit awards for individual competition as well as the overall championship in the elementary category or key stage II division, four (4) championship trophies, three (3) first runner-up trophies and four (4) second runner-up trophies for group competition;

WHEREAS, the awards garnered by our Filipino students clearly indicate that with proper training and guidance, Filipino students can exemplify the competence and capability of Filipinos in the international mathematical competition scene; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding performance of our Filipino students in the 2013 BIMC showed the international competitiveness of the Filipino people.

RESOLVED, AS IT HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Senate to congratulate and commend the Philippine delegation to the 2013 Bulgaria International Mathematics Competition that won the overall championship in the elementary category or key stage II division as well as

the other forty one (41) awards including five (5) gold medals, seven (7) silver medals, ten (10) bronze medals and eight (8) merit awards for individual competition; and four (4) champion trophies, three (3) first runner-up trophies and four (4) second runner-up trophies for group competition, namely:

## Individual competition

### Gold Medalists

- 1. Jinger Chong of St. Jude Catholic School
- 2. Shaquille Wyan Que of Grace Christian College
- 3. Vicente Raphael Chan of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
- Clyde Wesley Ang of Chiang Kai Shek College
- 5. Farrell Eldrian Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy

### Silver Medalists

- 6. Jose Ignacio Locsin of St. John Institute (Bacolod)
- 7. Stefan Marcus Ong of St. Jude Catholic School
- 8. Steven John Wang of UNO High School
- 9. Tiffany Mae Ong of Immaculate Conception Academy
- 10. John Thomas Chuatak of St. Stephen's High School
- 11. Shawn Gabriel Cabanes of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
- 12. Sedrick Scott Keh of Xavier School

#### Bronze Medalists

- 13. Luke Matthews Bernardo of Philadelphia High School in Quezon City
- 14. Adam Christopher Chan of Grace Christian College
- 15. Ryan Mark Shao of Xavier School
- 16. Eason Wong of Philippine Cultural College
- 17. Kelsey Lim Tiong Soon of Grace Christian College
- 18. Kaye Janelle Yao of Grace Christian College
- 19. Nathanael Joshua Balete of St. Stephen's High School
- 20. Andrew Lawrence Sy of Xavier School
- 21. Andrea Jessica Jaba of St. Jude Catholic School
- 22. John Aries Ceazar Hingan of San Beda College Alabang.

#### Merit Awardees

- 23. Gen Mark Tanno of Southville International School
- 24. Joseph Raymond Fadri of Makati Science High School
- 25. Andrew Brandon Ong of Chiang Kai Shek College
- 26. William Joshua King of Bethany Christian School (Cebu City)
- 27. Anna Nicola Baizas of Philippine Science High School Main
- 28. Jaymi Mae Ching of Jubilee Christian Academy
- 29. Alyana Zoie Chua of MGC New Life Christian Academy
- 30. Christopher Jose Carlos of Ateneo de Manila Grace School

# **Group Competition Elementary**

Champion Group Division and Second Runner-up in Team Contest

1. RP Elementary Team D

Second Runner-up Elementary Group Divisions

- 1. RP Elementary Team B
- 2. RP Elementary Team C

# Group Competition High School

Champion Team Contest and First Runner-up Group Divisions

1. RP High School Team A

First Runner-up Team Contests

- 1. RP High School Team C
- 2. RP High School Team D

Second Runner-up Team Contests

1. RP High School Team B

## Coaches

- 1. Dr. Simon Chua Head Philippine Delegation to 2013 BIMC; Mathematics Trainers Guild Philippines
- 2. Dr. Lolita Andrada director of the Department of Education's Bureau of Secondary Education
- 3. Dr. Filma Brawner director of the Science Education Institute of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST-SEI)
- 4. Dr. Eduardo dela Cruz Jr Dean of Arellano University's College of Education
- 5. Arvie Ubarro
- 6. Rechilda Villame
- 7. Isidro Aguilar
- 8. Joseph Wee
- 9. Robert Degolacion

Adopted,

Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay

Senator