SIXTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session



*13 SEP -2 P2:16

SENATE

)

)

)

S. _ _ _ Res. No. _ 231

Introduced by

Senator LOREN LEGARDA

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE AWARDEES OF THE 2013 METROBANK FOUNDATION OUTSTANDING TEACHERS

WHEREAS, teachers are unsung heroes of our times, all of whom deserve the nation's admiration and respect for their continued quest to educate and help shape young minds to help build a better future;

WHEREAS, amidst the difficulties our Filipino teachers are facing because of meager salaries and benefits and the deplorable condition of many of our school buildings, teaching materials and equipment, they remain reliable and dedicated in their duty of educating the youth;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, seeks to give due credit and incentives to Filipino teachers who have exhibited competence, remarkable dedication to their work, and effective educational leadership, as well as their various community involvements;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation on its 29th year, in partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd) and the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd), honors the teaching profession, recognizing those who exhibit competence,

remarkable dedication to their work, and effective educational leadership, as well as their various community involvements

WHEREAS, Fely A. Batiloy of Special Education Integrated School for Exceptional Children (Iloilo City); Dr. Mitchel V. Rodriguez of Odiongan Central School (Gingoog City); Cherry G. Vinluan of Guagua Elementary School (Guagua, Pampanga); and Rodel C. Sampang of Pedro Guevarra Elementary School (City of Manila) received the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers recognition for the Elementary Competition;

WHEREAS, Dominique J. Maquiran of the University of the Philippines High School in Iloilo (Iloilo City); Dr. Maria Teresa M. Bautista of Bacnotan National High School (Bacnotan, La Union); Marcelo T. Otinguey of Ampusongan National High School (Bakun, Benguet); and Maria Lorna L. Garnace of Philippine Science High School, Eastern Visayas Campus (Palo, Leyte) received the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers recognition for the Secondary Competition;

WHEREAS, Dr. Alfredo C. Robles, Jr. of the De La Salle University (City of Manila) and Dr. Emilyn Q. Espiritu of the Ateneo de Manila University (Quezon City) received the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers recognition for the Higher Education Competition.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate, to honor and commend the awardees of the 2013 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers for their exemplary competence dedication to service, and commitment in providing quality edution.

Adopted,

C. Tren Tragarda

LOREN LEGARDA Senator