SIXTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

Section of the percentary

13 OCT 30 P3:40

SENATE 328 P. S. Res. No.

RECEIVED IN .

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

COMMENDING AND CONGRAȚULATING THE FILIPINO MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION FOR THE PROHIBITION OF CHEMICAL WEAPONS FOR THEIR EFFORTS AGAINST CHEMICAL WARFARE AND FOR EARNING A NOBEL PEACE PRIZE FOR 2013.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate on several occassions recognize talented Filipinos for their outstanding achievements and contributions to humanity;

WHEREAS, the Philippines shares in the pride earned by the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) whose ten (10) Filipino members, namely: Franz Ontal, Criselda Javelosa Van Dasler, Helen Andriessen, Gemma van Oudheusden-Vincoy, Jenniefer Balatbat, Allan Laroza, Roycelynne Reyes, Mary Ann Nieto-Schroor, Michael Conche, and Emily Castriciones, were part of the team which won the distinguished Nobel Peace Prize for;

WHEREAS, the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) is an international organization tasked by contracting States to monitor and stand guard over the global prohibition against chemical weapons;

WHEREAS, the use of chemical weapons in conflicts, such as in the recent struggle in Syria, lead to horrific and heinous biological, ecological, and environmental results thereby wreaking untold devastation in the lives of persons within affected areas;

WHEREAS, the tireless and humble efforts of the OPCW as a global watchdog against chemical warfare has advanced the goal of eradicating the use of chemical weapons;

WHEREAS, the Nobel Committee recognized and commended the continuing efforts and increasing success of the OPCW by awarding the institution with the Nobel Peace Prize for 2013;

WHEREAS, the Nobel Peace Prize is the most prestigious international prize awarded annually to individuals and institutions who have accomplished the best work towards the building of "fraternity between nations", the "abolition or reduction of standing armies", and the "holding and promotion of peace congresses";

WHEREAS, the dedicated advocacy of these ten (10) Filipino members exemplify the talent, skill, and intelligence of the Filipino thereby marking Filipino talent as truly international in caliber;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved, that the Senate of the Philippines, with deep pride and honor, commends and congratulates the Filipino members of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons for their efforts against chemical warfaree and for earning a Nobel Peace Prize for 2013, namely:

- 1. Franz Ontal
- 2. Criselda Javelosa Van Dasler
- 3. Helen Andriessen
- 4. Gemma van Oudheusden-Vincoy
- 5. Jenniefer Balatbat
- 6. Allan Laroza
- 7. Roycelynne Reyes
- 8. Mary Ann Nieto-Schroor
- 9. Michael Conche
- 10. Emily Castriciones

ADOPTED,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID Senator