SIXTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

13 NOV 12 P5:39

SENATE P.S. Res. No. _355

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING MARIA LOURDES 'MALOU' C. MANGAHAS, JARIUS Y. BONDOC, AND RODRIGO 'JIGGY' D. MANICAD, JR. FOR BEING NAMED THE 2013 JOURNALISTS OF THE YEAR (JOY) HONORED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC. AND PROBE MEDIA **FOUNDATION, INC. (PMFI)**

WHEREAS, the Journalists of the Year (JOY) is a search undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Probe Media Foundation, Inc. (PMFI) to recognize outstanding journalists whose work not only inspired and influenced their audience, but sparked social change and contributed to nation building;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. recognized its first set of Journalists of the Year in 2001 with Sheila Coronel, Jessica Soho and Armando Malay as awardees, whose work inspired significant changes in their respective fields of journalism;

WHEREAS, nominees for Journalists of the Year went through a rigorous screening process where five (5) of their best works in the past decade were judged based on a set criteria, after which, selected finalists moved on for final judging and were interviewed by the Final Board of Judges with Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P.A. Sereno as head, Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) chairperson Dr. Patricia B. Licuanan as Vice Chairperson, and Very Rev. Fr. Herminio V. Dagohoy (96th Rector of the University of Santo Tomas), Dr. Emerlinda R. Roman (former President of the University of the Philippines System), Carmencita T. Abella (President of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation), Dr. Florangel Rosario-Braid (President Emeritus and Senior Adviser of the Asian Institute of Journalism and Communication), and Prof. Julkipli M. Wadi (Dean of the UP Institute of Islamic Studies);

WHEREAS, the Journalists of the Year awards were given to: Maria Lourdes 'Malou' C. Mangahas, host of GMA News TV Channel 11 "Investigative Documentaries" and Executive Director of the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism; Jarius Y. Bondoc, columnist for The Philippine Star and host of DWIZ's radio program "Sapol ni Jarius Bondoc"; and Rodrigo 'Jiggy' D. Manicad, Jr., news producer of GMA7 News & Public Affairs and anchor of GMA7's Reporters' Notebook, 24 Oras Weekend, and GMA News TV Channel 11's Quick Response Team;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Probe Media Foundation, Inc. in congratulating and commending Maria Lourdes "Malou" C. Mangahas, Jarius Y. Bondoc, and Rodrigo "Jiggy" D. Manicad Jr. who have served as infrastructures for continuing excellence and provided greater impact on their respective spheres of influence through the 2013 Journalists of the Year award;

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines congratulates and commends Maria Lourdes 'Malou' C. Mangahas, Jarius Y. Bondoc, and Rodrigo 'Jiggy' D. Manicad, Jr. for being named the 2013 Journalists of the Year (JOY) honored by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Probe Media Foundation, Inc. (PMFI).

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID

Senator MLR