## 16<sup>th</sup>CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC ) OF THE PHILIPPINES ) Second Regular Session )



14 AUG -5 P4:09

## SENATE

RECEIVED BY:	łł	ř.	F) IV	ED)	BY:	X
--------------	----	----	-------	-----	-----	---

Committee Report No. 61

Submitted by the Committee on Finance on AUG 0 5 2014 .

Re: P.S.R. No. 554

Recommending that it be archived

## MR. PRESIDENT:

The Committee on Finance to which was referred **Senate Resolution No. 554**, introduced by **Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago**, entitled:

RESOLUTION DIRECTING THE PROPER SENATE COMMITTEE, TO CONDUCT AN INQUIRY IN AID OF LEGISLATION, ON THE ALLEGED CLERICAL ERRORS IN THE PREPARATION AND ISSUANCE OF SPECIAL ALLOTMENT AND RELEASE ORDERS (SAROS) AT THE DEPARTMENT OF BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT

has considered the same and has the honor to report it back to the Senate with the recommendation that it be archived considering that the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) has satisfactorily explained to the Committee on Finance the error it has committed, when it inadvertently attributed SARO No A-079539 in the amount of P3 billion to Congressman Manuel Zamora, on the report that the DBM submitted to the Commission on Audit. The error was a consequence of an earlier mistake made by the DBM in assigning SARO A-079539 to cover both releases of P3 billion for the Preventive Maintenance of National Roads and Bridges – Nationwide and P500,000 for projects under the congressional allocation of Congressman Zamora. The error was rectified by DBM by affixing letter "A" to SARO No. 079539 covering the release of P500,000.

The DBM has assured the Committee that the same mistake will not happen again since it has fully implemented in FY 2014 the e-Budget System, a computerization program used in the processing of documents on the releases of funds. In addition, the DBM has adopted measures to ensure the integrity of its release documents.

## Respectfully submitted:

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO

Chairman, Committee on Finance

RALPH G. RECTO

Senate President Pro-Tempore Chair, Finance Sub-Com D SERGIO R. OSMEÑA III

Chair Finance Sub-Com B

LOREN B. LEGARDA

Chair, Finance Sub-Com C

TECTISTO L. GUINGONA III

Chair, Figance Sub-Com D

**MEMBERS:** 

RAMON "BONG" REVILLA JR.

FERDINAND R. MARCOS JR.

GRACE POE

CYNTHIA A. VILLAR

PIAS. CAYETANO

ACIIII INO "KOKO" PIMENTEL III

JUAN EDGARDO ANGARA

MIRIAM DEFENSOR-SANTIAGO

MANUEL M. LAPID

VICENTE C SOTTO IT

JOSEPH VICTOR G. EJERCITO

JINGGOY EJERCITO ESTRADA

MARIA LOURDES "NANCY" S. BINAY

**EX- OFFICIO MEMBERS:** 

ALAN PETER S. CAYETANO

Majority Leader

RALPH G. RECTO

Senate President Pro-Temporé

FRANKLIN M. DRILON

Senate President