# SIXTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Third Regular Session



15 JA 28 P2 55

SENATE

RECEIVED BY:\_\_\_\_

COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 188

Submitted jointly by the Committees on Local Government and Electoral Reforms and People's Participation on JUL 2 8 2015.

Re: House Bill No. 4570

Recommending its approval with amendments.

Sponsor: Senator Marcos, Jr.

#### MR. PRESIDENT:

The Committees on Local Government and Electoral Reforms and People's Participation to which was referred House Bill No. 4570, introduced by Representative Tobias "Toby" M. Tiangco, entitled:

#### "AN ACT

DIVIDING BARANGAY TANZA IN THE CITY OF NAVOTAS INTO TWO (2) DISTINCT AND INDEPENDENT BARANGAYS TO BE KNOWN AS BARANGAY TANZA 1 AND BARANGAY TANZA 2"

have considered the same and have the honor to report it back to the Senate with the recommendation that it be approved with the following amendments:

- 1. On page 2, line 20, delete the word and figure "thirty (30)" and in lieu thereof, insert the word and figure "SIXTY (60)";
- 2. On page 3, line 2, delete the word and figure "sixty (60)" and in lieu thereof insert the word and figure "NINETY (90)".

## Respectfully submitted:

## Chairpersons:

AQUILINO "KOKO" L. PIMENTEL III

Committee on Electoral Reforms and

People's Participation

Member, Committee on Local Government

FERDINAND R. MARCOS, JR. Committee on Local Government

Vice-Chairpersons:

**GRACE POE** 

Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation Member, Committee on Local Government ANTONIO "SONNY" F. TRILLANES IV Committee on Local Government

Member, Committee on Local

Government

Members:

PIA S. CAYETANO

Committee on Local Government

PAOLO BENIGNO "BAM" AQUINO IV

Committee on Local Government

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPIQ.

Committee on Local Government

LOREN LEGARDA

Committee on Local Government Committee on Electoral Reforms and

People's Participation

SONNY ANGARA Committee on Local Government

**JOSEPH VICTOR G. EJERCITO** 

Committee on Local Government Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation

FRANCIS G. ESCUDERO

Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation

SERGIO R. OSMEÑA III

Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation

CYNTHIA A. VILLAR

Committee on Local Government Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation

MARIA LOURDES NANCY S. BINAY

Committee on Local Government

GREGORIO B. HONASÁN II

Committee on Local Government Committee on Electoral Reforms and

People's Participation

TEOFISTO "TO" L. GUINGONA III

Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation

### **Ex-Officio Members:**

RALPH G. RECTO
President/Pro-Tempore

ALAN PETER "COMPAÑERO" S. CAYETANO Majority Leader

VICENTE C. SOTTO III
Acting Minority Leader

Member, Committee on Electoral Reforms and People's Participation JUAN PONCE ENRILE Minority Leader

Hon. FRANKLIN M. DRILON President Senate of the Philippines Pasay City CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES SIXTEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

## }

### HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### H. No. 4570

DIKERRESENIATIVE	Liangco, per committee	REPORT NO. 290

AN ACT DIVIDING BARANGAY TANZA IN THE CITY OF NAVOTAS INTO TWO (2) DISTINCT AND INDEPENDENT BARANGAYS TO BE KNOWN AS BARANGAY TANZA 1 AND BARANGAY TANZA 2

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled.

Y	SECTION 1. Division of Barangay Tanza. — Barangay Tanza in the	
2	City of Navotas is hereby divided into two (2) distinct and independent	
3	barangays to be known as Barangay Tanza 1 and Barangay Tanza 2.	
4	SEC. 2. Territorial Boundaries The territorial boundaries of each	
5	barangay created in the immediately preceding section shall be as follows:	
6	(a) Barangay Tanza 1	
7	"Bounded on the Northwest (NW) by centerlines of Tucol Creek and	
8	lots 6160, 6163 Psu-11714, and 6143 Psu-36561 all of Navotas Cadastral	
9	Mapping Mcadm 582-D Case 14;	
10	On the Southeast (SE) by centerlines of Binuagan River and Batasan	
11	River;	
12	On the Southeast (SB) by centerlines of Capt. I.S. Cruz Street, Dahlia	
13	Street, Sucal Creek, and Batasan River; and	

1	On the Southwest (SW) by centerlines of Santan Street, Everlasting
2	Street, Sampaguita Street, Kawayan River and Creek, and by lots 6141
3	Psu-92969, 6140, 6137, 6135, 6133, 6123, Si-20504-D, and 6121 Psd-45923
4	all of Navotas Cadastral Mapping Meadm 582-D Case 14;
5	Containing an area of 2,657,501.67 square meters, more or less."
6	(b) Barangay Tanza 2
7	"Bounded on the Northwest (NW) by centerlines of Tucol Creek,
8	Capt. I.S. Cruz Street, Dahlia Street and Sucai Creek and by Lot 6132 I-1506
9	Navotas Cadastral Mapping Meadm 582-D Case 14;
10	On the Northeast (NE) by centerlines of Santan Street, Everlasting
11	Street, Sampaguita Street, Batasan River, Kawayan River and Creek, and lots
12	6142 Psu-6119, 6138 Swo-14776, 6136, 6134 I-1077, 6132 I-1056, 6127,
13	6162 Psu-1547 and 6128 I-1041 all of Navotas Cadastral Mapping Mcadm
14	582-D Case 14;
15	On the Southwest (SW) by Manila Bay and centerline of
16	Malabon-Navotas River;
17	Containing an area of 2,107,111.72 square meters, more or less."
18	SEC. 3. Conduct and Supervision of Plebiscite The Commission on
19	Elections (COMELEC) shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite to be held in
20	Barangay Tanza in the City of Navotas within thirty (30) days from the
21	effectivity of this Act.
22	The expenses for such plebiscite shall be borne by the City of Navotas.
23	SEC. 4. Special Election of Barangay Officials The first set of
24	officials of barangays created under Section 1 hereof shall be elected not later
25	than ninety (90) days from approval by majority votes cast in a plebiscite held
26	for the purpose.

l	The COMELEC shall conduct and supervise the special elections to be	
2	held in Barangays Tanza 1 and Tanza 2 in the City of Navotas within sixty (60)	
3	days after the ratification of this Act in a plebiscete.	
4	The expenses for such special elections shall be borne by the City of	
5	Navotas.	
6	SEC. 5. Incumbent Barangay Officials The incumbent barangay	
7	officials of Barangay Tanza shall continue to hold office and administer	
8	Barangays Tanza 1 and Tanza 2 until such time that the officials of the	
9	newly created barangays have been duly elected and qualified.	
0	SEC. 6. Public Infrastructures and Facilities All existing public	
1	infrastructures and facilities for public use existing therein at the time of the	
2	approval of this Act are hereby transferred without cost or compensation to and	
3	shall be administered by the new barangays.	
4	SEC. 7. Internal Revenue Allotment (IRA) Shares Barangay Tanza 1	
5	and Barangay Tanza 2 in the City of Navotas shall be entitled to Internal	
6	Revenue Allotment (IRA) shares pursuant to Section 285 of Republic Act	
7	No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the "Local Government Code of	
8	1991".	
9	SEC. 8. Effectivity This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after	
0:	its publication in the Official Gazette or in any newspaper of general	
i	circulation.	
	Approved,	