SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE) REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES) First Regular Session)



16 AUG -4 P5:23

SENATE

P.S. RES. NO. <u>82</u>

RECESS STY:

Introduced by SENATOR JOEL VILLANUEVA

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2016 AWARDED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, next to our parents, the teachers have the most impact on our lives, instilling in us good moral values and making profound difference in the paths that we have chosen;

WHEREAS, one of the greatest roles of a teacher is empowering the mind of the students and training them to help reach their fullest potential;

WHEREAS, we should recognize the essential role of the teachers in educational advancement, their important contributions in the development of humanity and modern society and their rights as members of a highly regarded professions;

WHEREAS, amidst the difficulties our teachers are facing, they remain reliable and dedicated in their duty of educating the youth;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate recognizes that the Filipino teachers' heroic dedication to their vocation has earned the nation's highest respect for teaching as among the noblest of all professions;

WHEREAS, for the last thirty two (32) years since 1984, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has honored 346 outstanding teachers of the Philippines as shining examples of unstinting dedication and commitment to the teaching profession, and as such, the pride and joy not only of their respective schools and communities, but also of the nation as well:

WHEREAS, out of the 346 awardees, the Philippine Senate has recognized one hundred forty (140) of them from 2002 to 2015;

WHEREAS, the Roll of Honor for the 2016 Search for Outstanding Teachers consist of four (4) teachers in the elementary, four (4) in secondary and two (2) in the higher education levels:

ELEMENTARY:

Mrs. Winona Y. Diola

Grade School Teacher
De La Salle Santiago Zobel School
Muntinlupa City

Ms. Rujealyn R. Cancino

Master Teacher II
Lingayen I Central School
Lingayen, Pangasinan

Mr. Arnol M. Rosales

Master Teacher I Francisco Melgar Memorial School Naujan, Oriental Mindoro

Mrs. Josephine Chonie M. Obsenares

Master Teacher I
Butuan City SPED Center
Butuan City

SECONDARY:

Dr. Roy B. Basa

Master Teacher I Negros Occidental High School Bacolod City

Mr. Nelson G. Agoyaoy

Coordinator of Student Concerns and Activities
University of the East Caloocan Elementary and High School Department
Caloocan City

Mrs. Ma. Regaele A. Olarte

Teacher I Muntinlupa National High School Muntinlupa City

Dr. Katherine Faith M. Bustos

Master Teacher I Nueva Vizcaya General Comprehensive High School Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya

HIGHER EDUCATION:

Dr. Ernelea P. Cao
Professor XII
University of the Philippines - Diliman
Quezon City

Dr. Mark Anthony J. Torres
Associate Professor V
Mindanao State University - Iligan Institute of Technology
Iligan City

WHEREAS, this award should be appreciated not only as fitting tribute for educators who served best and achieved most but also to draw inspiration from their excellent and selfless contribution to the pursuit of quality education;

WHEREAS, this recognition should inspire other teachers and even workers in other professions to perform outstanding service so that our youth will have a better future;

Whereas, we aspire to boost the country's quality of education by supporting genuine efforts to motivate our teachers, retrain and reward them for their life's work:

Now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines honor and commend the ten (10) outstanding teachers of 2016 chosen by Metrobank Foundation, Inc.

Adopted.

SENATOR JOEL VILLANUEVA