

SEVENTEE	NTE	COL	IGRE	SS
REPUBLIC	OF	THE	PHIL	IPPINES

First Regular Session

'16 DEC -7 P3:39

RECEIVED BY:

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 251

Introduced by SENATOR LOREN LEGARDA

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE 2016 AWARDEES OF THE OUTSTANDING WOMEN IN THE NATION'S SERVICE (TOWNS) FOR THEIR COURAGE, INTEGRITY, AND COMMITMENT TO ENHANCING THE ROLE OF FILIPINO WOMEN IN NATION-BUILDING

WHEREAS, "The Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service (TOWNS)" search is undertaken to recognize exceptional Filipino women, aged 21 to 45 years old, whose remarkable competence and efforts have contributed to the country's development;

WHEREAS, the TOWNS Foundation is a non-profit organization established to amass the collective talents, brains and passion of the awardees to help transform the nation;

WHEREAS, the TOWNS Award seeks to recognize the role of the Filipina in nation-building and to acknowledge their courage, integrity, dedication, initiative and pioneering zeal in their respective fields;

WHEREAS, the award is given once every three (3) years and it has been bestowed on 158 exemplary women since its establishment in 1974;

WHEREAS, the TOWNS Foundation, in partnership with Banco De Oro (BDO), awarded eight outstanding Filipino women on November 17, 2016, at Dusit Thani Manila, Makati City;

WHEREAS, the 2016 TOWNS Awardees are Cherrie De Erit Atilano for social development, Hidilyn Francisco Diaz for sports, Patricia Chanco Evangelista for media, Luisa Mercedes Paez Lorenzo for arts, Marisse Arlene Andres Martinez for government service, Aisa Alvarez Mijeno for social enterprise, Lou Sabrina Saavedra Ongkiko for education, and Jocelle Batapa Sigue for information and communications technology;

WHEREAS, the 2016 TOWNS Awardees will work together to promote the mission of the TOWNS Foundation through harnessing their expertise to influence national issues and nurture young women leaders;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, to honor and commend the 2016 Awardees of The Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service (TOWNS) for their commitment to making positive influence on our country's national development.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA

Senator