SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Second Regular Session



'17 AUG -2 P4:57

SENATE

S.B. No. 1542

RECEIVED BY:

))

Introduced by Sen. Juan Miguel F. Zubiri

AN ACT

CREATING TWO (2) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT IN THE PROVINCE OF SULTAN KUDARAT, ONE EACH TO BE STATIONED IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF ISULAN AND TACURONG CITY, FURTHER AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14, PARAGRAPH (M) OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS "THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980", AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFORE

EXPLANATORY NOTE

Section 16, Article III of the 1987 Constitution states that "All persons shall have the right to a speedy disposition of their cases before all judicial, quasi-judicial, or administrative bodies", thus, this measure seeks to create two (2) additional branches of the Regional Trial Court (RTC) in the Province of Sultan Kudarat stationed in the Municipality of Isulan and in Tacurong City, both from the Twelfth Judicial Region.

By virtue of Batas Pambansa Bilang 129 or the The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980, the First District of Sultan Kudarat currently has two branches of RTC serving five (5) municipalities and one (1) city. To decongest court dockets of voluminous cases filed and to provide a speedy trial, the establishment and creation of additional branches of RTC is strongly urged. This is also to address the needs of our growing populace and the delay in resolution of cases pending before said courts.

In view of the foregoing, the approval of this bill is earnestly sought.

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI

SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Second Regular Session



)

)

)

RECEIVED BY

17 AUG -2 P4:57

SENATE

S.B. No. <u>1542</u>

Introduced by Sen. Juan Miguel F. Zubiri

AN ACT

CREATING TWO (2) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT IN THE PROVINCE OF SULTAN KUDARAT, ONE EACH TO BE STATIONED IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF ISULAN AND TACURONG CITY, FURTHER AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14, PARAGRAPH (M) OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS "THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980", AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFORE

Be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Two (2) additional branches of the Regional Trial Court are hereby created, one each to be stationed in the Municipality of Isulan and Tacurong City, in the Province of Sultan Kudarat in the Twelfth Judicial Region.

The Supreme Court shall assign the branch number of the newly created Regional Trial Court branches in the Twelfth Judicial Region.

6 **SEC. 2.** The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in coordination with the 7 Secretary of the Department of Justice, shall immediately include in the Court's 8 program the operationalization of the additional Regional Trial Court branch to 9 be stationed in the Municipality of Isulan, and Tacurong City, Province of Sultan 10 Kudarat, the funding of which shall be included in the annual General 11 Appropriations Act.

SEC. 3. Section 14 (m) of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980", as amended, and all other laws, rules and regulations which are consistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.

16 **SEC. 4.** This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its complete publication 17 in the *Official Gazette* or in two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

1