SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE) REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)

Second Regular Session



17 AUG 14 P4:42

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 462

Introduced by Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING CESARIO L. TABAGO OF MONCADA, TARLAC FOR BEING NAMED THE 2017 ULIRANG MAGSASAKA BY THE LANDBANK OF THE PHILIPPINES DURING THE GAWAD SA **PINAKATANGING KOOPERATIBA** (GAWAD AWARDING CEREMONY ON 14 AUGUST 2017 AT THE PHILIPPINE INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION CENTER IN PASAY CITY, PHILIPPINES

WHEREAS, the Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba or Gawad PITAK is an annual search undertaken by the Land Bank of the Philippines (Land Bank) that recognizes cooperatives which exemplified the social responsibility of being agents of growth in the countryside;

WHEREAS, launched in 1990, the Gawad PITAK is the country's most prestigious award for cooperatives and is awarded to Land Bank-assisted cooperatives in the country that serve as effective channels in providing support, financial or technical, to the economic endeavors of small farmers, fisher folk and other marginalized sectors in our society:

WHEREAS, nominated farmer entrepreneurs for the Ulirang Magsasaka award were evaluated via table and field validation conducted by the Technical Working Group (TWG) composed of Land Bank personnel and representatives from the Senate, House of Representatives, Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Department of Agriculture (DA), and the Cooperative Development Authority (CDA);

WHEREAS, after the evaluation, the Program Management Committee (PMC) deliberated on the assessment made by the TWG and endorsed shortlisted farmer entrepreneurs to the Board of Judges (BOJ) for judging by this year's panel headed by the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Cooperatives as Chairperson, with Representative Rico B. Geron, the Chairman of the House Committee on Cooperatives Development as Co-Chairperson, Mr. Alex V. Buenaventura, President and CEO of the Land Bank of the Philippines as Vice Chairperson, and members – DA Secretary Manuel F. Piñol, DAR Secretary Rafael V. Mariano, and CDA Chairman Orlando R. Ravanera;

WHEREAS, the Ulirang Magsasaka award is given to exceptional farmer entrepreneurs who have excelled in their farming business operations and have contributed to community development, with this year's award going to Mr. Cesario L. Tabago of Moncada, Tarlac;

WHEREAS, a Civil Engineer by profession, this year's awardee found his calling in farming in 1998 where he started from three (3) hectares of land planting crops such as yellow corn, palay, turnips, onion, and sweet potato – the last earning him the monicker *Camote* King;

WHEREAS, as a means of sharing his success, Mr. Cesario L. Tabago conducts trainings among his farm workers and helps them with their families' needs, such as house construction and renovation, among others;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines proudly joins the Land Bank of the Philippines in acknowledging the vital role of farmers in our nation's social and economic progress through the 2017 *Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba* or Gawad PITAK Ulirang Magsasaka award;

RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines congratulate and commend Cesario L. Tabago of Moncada, Tarlac for being named the 2017 Ulirang Magsasaka by the Landbank of the Philippines during the *Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba* (Gawad PITAK) awarding ceremony on 14 August 2017 at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay City, Philippines.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI