SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES) Second Regular Session)



RECEIVED BI

S E N A T E P. S. Res. No. <u>469</u>

17 AUG 16 P4:34

Introduced by Senator Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE PHILIPPINE TEAM FOR WINNING FIFTY TWO (52) MEDALS AND AWARDS IN THE 2017 INDIA INTERNATIONAL MATHEMATICS COMPETITION HELD IN LUCKNOW, INDIA

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in numerous occasions paid tribute to exemplary Filipinos for their contribution in bringing pride and honor to the country by winning international competitions;

WHEREAS, the 2017 India International Mathematics Competition (InIMC) was held in Lucknow, India from July 25 to 31, 2017;¹

WHEREAS, the 2017 InIMC had a total of twenty six (26) country participants including Australia, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Magnolia, Nepal, Philippines, Romania, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, and Zimbabwe;²

WHEREAS, the Philippine delegation, Team C, composed of Cassidy Kyler Tan, Kirsten Steffi Teh, Enzo Rafael Chan, and Sean Matthew Tan, won four (4) gold medals and named champion in the 2017 InIMC elementary team contest;³

WHEREAS, the Philippine delegation Team B won four (4) bronze medals as second runner up and a trophy for first runner up in the elementary group category;⁴

WHEREAS, the Philippine delegation Team B and Team D won eight (8) silver medals as first runner-up, and Team A won four (4) bronze medals in the high school team contest;⁵

WHEREAS, the Philippine delegation garnered a total of fifty two (52) awards including six (6) silver medals, fifteen (15) bronze medals, ten (10) merit awards in the individual competition as well as four (4) gold medals, four (4) bronze medals and a trophy for first runner up in the elementary group competition, and eight (8) silver medals and four (4) bronze medals in the high school group competition;

- ⁴ Ibid
- ⁵ Ibid

1 Far

¹ Rappler Website, http://www.rappler.com/bulletin-board/177567-filipino-students-medals-awards-india-mathcontest

² Ibid

³ ABS CBN Website; http://news.abs-cbn.com/life/08/03/17/pinoy-students-win-52-medals-awards-in-indiamath-contest

WHEREAS, the awards garnered by our Filipino students clearly indicate that with proper training and guidance, Filipino students can exemplify the competence and capability of Filipinos in the international mathematical competition scene.

BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Philippines, to commend the Philippine delegation to the 2017 India International Mathematics Competition that won fifty two (52) medals and awards including six (6) silver medals, fifteen (15) bronze medals, ten (10) merit awards in the individual competition as well as four (4) gold medals, four (4) bronze medals and a trophy for first runner up in the elementary group competition, and eight (8) silver medals and four (4) bronze medals in the high school group competition, namely:

Individual competition

Silver Medalists

- 1. Kristen Steffi Teh of Grace Christian College
- 2. Kei Hang Derek Chan of St. Jude Catholic School
- 3. Noel Stephen Dequito of Xavier School-Nuvali
- 4. Erin Christen Noceda of SPED-G Kalayaan
- 5. Julian Raymund Yu of British School Manila
- 6. William Joshua King of Bethany Christian School

Bronze Medalists

- 1. Enzo Rafael Chan of Bayanihan Institute
- 2. Cassidy Kyler Tan of Davao Christian High School
- 3. Sean Matthew Tan of Jubilee Christian Academy
- 4. Sigfred Kerwayne Kwan of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
- 5. Lawrence Gabriel Dy of CFF Life Academy Foundation
- 6. Stephen James Ty of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
- 7. James Matthew Young of Iloilo National High School
- 8. Hiraya Marcos of Philippine Cultural College-Main
- 9. Raymund Carlo Masbaño of St. John's Institute
- 10. Andrhea San Gabriel of Univ. of Baguio Science High School
- 11. Ryan Jericho Sy of Chiang Kai Shek College
- 12. Jonathan Conrad Yu of Philippine Christian Gospel School
- 13. Tom Manuel Piccio of Philippine Science High School-SMC
- 14. Charles Justin Shi of Philippine Cultural College-Caloocan
- 15. Mi Jung Pak of Colegio San Agustin-Biñan

Merit Awardees

- 1. Rickson Caleb Tan of MGC New Life Christian Academy
- 2. Cheska Marina Hufano of Philippine Science High School-CAR
- 3. Nathan Mayer Dy of St. John's Institute
- 4. Ambrose James Torreon of Rainbow of Angels Learning Center-Butuan
- 5. Christopher James Yap of St. John's Institute
- 6. Matthew Charles Carpio of Agoo Kiddie Special School
- 7. Cris Lorraine Dela Cruz of Bolinao Integrated School
- 8. Joshua Miguel Mariano of Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
- 9. John Dominic Ragudo of Philippine Science High School-CAR
- 10. Cris Magdalene Dela Cruz of Philippine Science High School-CAR

Certificate Individual Contest

- 1. Angelo Vince Perez of De La Salle Lipa
- 2. James Martin Young of SPED-Integrated School for Exceptional Children
- 3. Maximus Dizon of Philippine Science High School-CVC

Group Competition Elementary

Champion Elementary Team Contest

1. RP Elementary Team C

First Runner-up in Group Contest

1. RP Elementary Team B

Second Runner-up Elementary Team Contest

1. RP Elementary Team B

Group Competition High School

First Runner-up High School Team Contest

- 1. RP Highschool Team B
- 2. RP Highschool Team D

Second Runner-up High School Team Contest

1. RP Highschool Team A

Coaches

- 1. Dr. Isidro Aguilar Mathematics Trainers Guild Philippines
- 2. Dr. Simon Chua Mathematics Trainers Guild Philippines
- 3. Roberto Degolacion
- 4. Minerva Bianca Avecilla
- 5. Arvie Ubarro
- 6. Geraldine Subida
- 7. Joseph Wee
- 8. Renard Eric Chua

Adopted,

Brand

MARIA LOURDES NANCY S. BINAY Senator