SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session



SENATE

'17 AUG 29 P2:56

P.S. Res. No. <u>478</u>

RECEIVED BY:	\cap
Introduced by SENATOR LACSON and SENATOR ESCUDERO	

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE METROBANK FOUNDATION OUTSTANDING FILIPINOS OF 2017

WHEREAS, The Metrobank Foundation is committed to promote a culture of excellence in the sectors of academe, police, and soldiery through the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos with its component searches, namely — Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT); The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS); and Country's Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS);

WHEREAS, The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos is a career-service award program that honors the excellence, dedication, heroism and sacrifices of teachers, soldiers and police officers being implemented by the Metrobank Foundation in conjunction with the Rotary Club of Makati Metro for TOPS; and the Rotary Club of New Manila East for COPS, respectively;

WHEREAS, The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos are citizens recognized as models of excellence in their profession who lives in accord with values of patriotism, integrity, and resourcefulness, having their social responsibilities in mind, in the performance of their profession;

WHEREAS, with the theme "Beyond Excellence", this year's search was launched last January 2017 with the objective of recognizing ten (10) exemplary individuals for their outstanding services and contributions to nation-building;

WHEREAS, after a dynamic and exhaustive nationwide search, the distinguished members of the Board of Judges selected four (4) teachers, three (3) soldiers, and three (3) police officers as *The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos of* 2017;

WHEREAS, the ten (10) awardees will join the ranks of six hundred forty-five (645) outstanding public servants recognized by the Metrobank Foundation since 1985;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines honor and commend the awardees of The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos, namely:

For the teacher category:

- 1. MRS. JENNIFER M. ROJO Master Teacher II Neogan Elementary School Tagaytay City
- 2. MR. EDGAR T. ELAGO Teacher III Magallanes National High School Magallanes, Agusan del Norte
- 3. DR. ESPERANZA C. CABRERA Full Professor and University Fellow De La Salle University Malate, Manila
- 4. DR. ALONZO A. GABRIEL Professor 1 & University Scientist 2 University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City

For the Soldier category:

- STAFF SERGEANT NARDING N. PASCUAL PA Squad Leader, Bravo Company, 26th Infantry Battalion 4th Infantry Division, Philippine Army San Nicolas, Agusan del Sur
- 6. LIEUTENANT COLONEL ELMER B. SUDERIO PA (GSC) Assistant Chief of Staff for Operations, G3 1st Infantry Division, Philippine Army Labangan, Zamboanga Del Sur
- LIEUTENANT COLONEL RICKY P. BUNAYOG PA (GSC) Assistant Chief of Staff for Operations, G3 6th Infantry Division, Philippine Army Datu Odin Sinsuat, Maguindanao

For the Police category:

- 8. POLICE OFFICER 3 SHIELA MAY S. PANSOY Women and Children's Protection Desk Investigator Digos City Police Station, Davao Del Sur Police Provincial Office Digos City
- POLICE CHIEF INSPECTOR ROSALINO P. IBAY, JR. Chief, District Police Intelligence and Operation Unit Manila Police District City of Manila
- 10. POLICE SENIOR SUPERINTENDENT JOEL B. DORIA City Director Cebu City Police Office Cebu City

For their loyalty and dedication to the Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines, for their faithful performance of their sworn duties and responsibilities beyond reproach, and for being model citizens in their respective communities.

Adopted,

LACSON PANFILO Senator

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO Senator