## SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE ) REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES )

Second Regular Session



SEP -5 P4:16

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 492 RECEIVED BY

## Introduced by Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri

## RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE 2017 **METROBANK** FOUNDATION OUTSTANDING FILIPINOS TO BE HONORED ON SEPTEMBER 7, 2017 AT THE METROBANK PLAZA IN MAKATI CITY, PHILIPPINES

**WHEREAS**, the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos is a career-service award that recognizes those who have redefined public service and whose work have inspired and influenced significant changes in our society;

**WHEREAS**, the search chose ten remarkable individuals from the academe, military, and police sectors, whose service have a positive impact on the people and the country, to receive this year's award that would best exemplify the theme Beyond Excellence;

WHEREAS, hailed as Tagaytay's visionary science teacher, Mrs. Jennifer M. Rojo is cited for her work in developing various learning initiatives beyond what textbooks offer by allowing students comprehend complex ideas and terminologies in enjoyable manner;

WHEREAS, Agusan del Norte's culture coach, Mr. Edgar T. Elago is recognized for authoring a comprehensive action research on cultural awareness resulting in a culture-based lesson modules and localized instructional materials that serves as a guideline for other educators to use, and for initiating efforts to support financially challenged scholars through his Art Shop, a social enterprise that rents out Filipino costumes where he employs his scholars on a "cash for work" arrangement, letting them do costume production and delivery jobs;

WHEREAS, Master microbiologist Dr. Esperanza C. Cabrera is distinguished for her accomplishments in the field of microbiology where she is instrumental in the certification of microbiologists, in this manner professionalizing the practice of microbiology and promoting professional growth among microbiologists in the country;

WHEREAS, food security advocate Dr. Alonzo A. Gabriel will receive the award for spearheading the establishment of the country's first and only Laboratory of Food Microbiology and Hygiene based at the University of the Philippines' College of Home Economics which is opened to students and faculty not just from UP Diliman but to other institutions as well, and for developing teaching materials and conducting awareness on food defense cascading it to the grassroots;

WHEREAS, a proud lumad, Staff Sergeant Narding Pascual is honored for his active involvement in community projects which have benefited the Banwaon tribespeople such as the construction of a primary school building for elementary pupils in San Luis, Agusan del Sur, his rural electrification project in Sitio Km. 24 in Mahagsay, San Luis

where over 60 households were connected to the grid, and for initiating a falcata tree plantation livelihood project maintained the Banwaons;

**WHEREAS**, venerated soldier Lieutenant Colonel Elmer Suderio is honored for his contribution on the improvement of peace and order in Basilan by neutralizing wanted terrorists, and in his active role in the enhancement of the PMA curriculum and creating a closer relation between military and community by implementing various support programs and medical missions;

**WHEREAS**, Mindanao Peacekeeper Lieutenant Colonel Ricky Bunayog is hailed for his efforts in pursuing peace in Mindanao by leading combat operations against armed terrorist groups and facilitating the settlement of long-standing blood feuds or "rido" in Sultan Kudarat and Maguindanao;

**WHEREAS**, Davao del Sur's Anti-Abuse champion, PO3 Shiela May S. Pansoy is recognized for her instrumental role in the implementation of a quick response system for abused women and children as well as spearheading counselling workshops geared in preventing domestic abuse and violence;

**WHEREAS**, C/Insp. Rosalino P. Ibay, Jr. is cited for his efforts to address criminality by being instrumental in the resolution of various carnapping cases in Manila leading to the recovery of hundreds of stolen vehicles and motorcycles and arrest of numerous suspects, and for founding the Buklod ng Alyansang Nagkakaisang Anak ng Tondo or BANAT which is responsible for several humanitarian projects such as medical missions, feeding programs, and distribution of goods to residents;

**WHEREAS**, S/Supt. Joel B. Doria is honored for his anti-criminality crusade called POKEMON, which has already conducted 30 buy-bust operations, resulting to the arrest of more than 1,700 criminals, including big-time drug traders, and the confiscation of huge cargos of contrabands worth more than P80 million;

WHEREAS, this year's awardees were selected by members of the Final Board of Judges headed by Senator Panfilo Lacson, as the Chairperson of the panel, with Quezon City 4th District representative Feliciano "Sonny" Belmonte, Jr., as Co-Chairperson, and members --- Court of Appeals Associate Justice Magdangal De Leon, US Ambassador to the Philippines Sung Kim, Manila Electric Company President and CEO Oscar Reyes, Asian Institute of Management President and Dean Dr. Jikyeong Kang, Palo Archbishop John Du, and GMA Network Senior Vice President for Radio Miguel "Mike" Enriquez;

**WHEREAS**, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation in congratulating and commending the exemplary Filipinos whose work and service has sparked an affirmative and enduring influence on people and the country through the 2017 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos;

**RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED,** that the Philippine Senate congratulates and commends the 2017 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos awardees, namely:

- 1. Mrs. Jennifer M. Rojo
- 2. Mr. Edgar T. Elago
- 3. Dr. Esperanza C. Cabrera
- 4. Dr. Alonzo A. Gabriel
- 5. SSG. Narding N. Pascual
- 6. Lt. Col. Elmer B. Suderio
- 7. Lt. Col. Ricky P. Bunayog
- 8. PO3 Shiela May S. Pansoy
- 9. C/Insp. Rosalino P. Ibay, Jr.
- 10. S/Supt. Joel B. Doria, Ph.D.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI