### SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE ) REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES )

Second Regular Session



#### SENATE

)

## '17 SEP 25 P 4:41

# P.S. Res. No. 515

Introduced by Senators Juan Miguel F. Zubiri, Joseph Victor G. Ejercito, Sherwin Gatchalian, Richard J. Gordon, Cynthia A. Villar, Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay, and Loren B. Legarda

#### RESOLUTION

### CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE SENATE ADVOCATES FOR WINNING THE 1<sup>ST</sup> CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY OF THE MAKABANSA BASKETBALL LEAGUE ON 24 SEPTEMBER 2017 AT THE MERALCO FITNESS CENTER IN ORTIGAS AVENUE, PASIG CITY

**WHEREAS,** the Senate Advocates made the Senate of the Philippines proud when it won the 1<sup>st</sup> Makabansa Basketball League championship trophy on 24 September 2017 at the Meralco Fitness Center in Ortigas Avenue, Pasig City;

**WHEREAS**, the Makabansa Basketball League was formed to solidify partnerships in and among the public and private sectors to better serve the public through sportsmanship, camaraderie, and healthy competition;

**WHEREAS**, sponsored by the MVP Sports Foundation, Inc. and Metro Pacific Investments Corp., the Makabansa Basketball League opened last July 2017 and drew seven (7) private companies and ten (10) government offices;

**WHEREAS**, the Senate Advocates composed of Senators Sonny Angara and Joel Villanueva, Ronald Golding, Rodelio Dascil, Joey Flaminiano, Garri Sevilla, Harly Ng, Rommel Balboa, James Mangaran, Fritz Floirendo, Carlo Escalada, Christian Andaya, Mark Anthony Marcos, Anthony Emmanuel Lim, Michael Dan Omega, Samuel Marata, Warren Tan, Reynaldo Malaga, Richard Diño, Ryan Endaya along with Team Manager Senator Ralph G. Recto, head coach Mike Fermin and assistant coach San Pedro Fermin gave the Senate of the Philippines its 1<sup>st</sup> Championship Trophy in basketball;

**WHEREAS**, the Senate Advocates showcased grit and determination by completing the upset via a come-from-behind 2-1 win in the title series against the Philippine STAR Troopers;

**WHEREAS**, in winning the 1<sup>st</sup> Makabansa Basketball League championship trophy, the Senate Advocates led by Co-Captains Senators Sonny Angara and Joel Villanueva, with Senator Ralph G. Recto as Team Manager has registered a 10-2 win-loss card;

**WHEREAS**, the cash prize won by the Senate Advocates will be given to its beneficiaries, the Tahanang Walang Hagdanan, Inc. and Manila East Safety Riders Association Rizal Organization;

**WHEREAS**, the historic win of the team is another living proof of the Senate's talent, skill and passion in basketball that bring pride and honor to the institution;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend the Senate Advocates for winning the 1<sup>st</sup> championship trophy of the Makabansa Basketball League on 24 September 2017 at the Meralco Fitness Center in Ortigas Avenue, Pasig City.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI

SHERWIN GATCHALIAN

CYNTHIA A. VILLAR

JOSEPH VICTOR G. EJERCITO

RICHARD J. GORDON

MARÍA LOURØES NANCY S. BINAY

LOREN B. LEGARDA