CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 6523

BY REPRESENTATIVES DELOSO-MONTALLA AND HOFER, PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 405

AN RAMON ACT RENAMING THE MAGSAYSAY TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY (RMTU) AS PRESIDENT RAMON MAGSAYSAY STATE UNIVERSITY (PRMSU). EXPANDING ITS CURRICULAR OFFERINGS AND STRENGTHENING ITS GOVERNING AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC NO. 8498, ENTITLED: "AN ACT ESTABLISHING THE RAMON MAGSAYSAY TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY OUT OF INTEGRATION OF THE RAMON THE POLYTECHNIC COLLEGE MAGSAYSAY IN MUNICIPALITY OF IBA. THE WESTERN LUZON AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE IN THE MUNICIPALITY SAN MARCELINO AND THE CANDELARIA SCHOOL OF FISHERIES IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF CANDELARIA, ALL IN THE PROVINCE OF ZAMBALES, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR"

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- 1 Section 1. The Ramon Magsaysay Technological University
- 2 (RMTU) in the Province of Zambales is hereby renamed as the
- 3 President Ramon Magsaysay State University (PRMSU).

All references to Ramon Magsaysay Technological University in Republic Act No. 8498 are now referred to as President Ramon Magsaysay State University.

SEC. 2. As a comprehensive state university, the President Ramon Magsaysay State University (PRMSU), hereinafter referred to as the University, shall primarily provide advance and higher professional, technical and special instructions in education and technology, engineering and architecture, agriculture, forestry and fisheries, public administration and management, business and accountancy, economics and finance, tourism, hospitality and culinary management, creative industries, humanities, arts and sciences, information and communications technology, maritime education, law and legal management, medicine and health-related programs, peace and security programs and other related fields of study. It shall also undertake research and extension, as well as income generation programs, for the sustainable development of the Province of Zambales, the region and the country.

SEC. 3. The University shall offer undergraduate and graduate programs in the fields of education, technology, engineering and architecture, agriculture, forestry and fisheries, public administration and management, business and accountancy, economics and finance, tourism, hospitality and culinary management, creative industries, humanities, arts and sciences, information and communications technology, maritime education, law and legal management, medicine and health-related programs, peace and security programs and other relevant programs within its areas of specialization and according to its capabilities, as the Board

of Regents may deem necessary to carry out its objectives, in order to meet the needs of the Province of Zambales, the region and the

2

country.

| 4  | SEC. 4. The governing board of the University shall be the          |
|----|---|
| 5  | Board of Regents, hereinafter referred to as the Board, which shall |
| 6  | be composed of the following:                                       |
| 7  | (a) The Chairperson of the Commission on Higher Education           |
| 8  | (CHED), Chairperson;  |
| 9  | (b) The President of the President Ramon Magsaysay State            |
| 10 | University, Co-Chairperson;   |
| 11 | (c) The Chairperson of the Committee on Education, Arts and         |
| 12 | Culture of the Senate, member;                                      |
| 13 | (d) The Chairperson of the Committee on Higher and                  |
| 14 | Technical Education of the House of Representatives, member;        |
| 15 | (e) The Regional Director of the National Economic and              |
| 16 | Development Authority (NEDA), member;                               |
| 17 | (f) The Regional Director of the Department of Science and          |
| 18 | Technology (DOST), member;  |
| 19 | (g) The Regional Director of the Department of Agriculture          |
| 20 | (DA), member;   |
| 21 | (h) The President of the federation of alumni associations of       |
| 22 | the University, member;   |
| 23 | (i) The President of the federation of student governments of       |
| 24 | the University, member;   |
| 25 | (j) The President of the federation of faculty associations of      |
| 26 | the University, member;   |

1 (k) Three (3) prominent Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of 2 duly recognized national or multinational corporations who have 3 distinguished themselves in the fields of specialization of the 4 University or who have entered into a partnership with the 5 University, members; and

(l) Two (2) prominent academicians in the Philippines who have distinguished themselves in the fields of specialization of the University through their publication and track record in research, members.

The three (3) prominent CEOs and the two (2) prominent academicians shall be chosen from among a list of at least five (5) qualified persons respectively, as recommended by the search committee of the University constituted by the University President, in consultation with the Chairperson of the CHED, based on normal standards and qualifications for the position.

The three (3) prominent CEOs and the two (2) prominent academicians shall serve for a term of two (2) years and may be reappointed by the Board of Regents for another term.

SEC. 5. The University shall be headed by a President, who shall render full-time service. The President shall be appointed by the Board, subject to the guidelines, qualifications and standards set by the Board, upon recommendation of a duly constituted search committee: *Provided*, That in order to effect a smooth transition to a comprehensive university, the incumbent President of the RMTU shall serve as the first President of PRMSU until the end of his current term.

| 1 | SEC. 6. All assets, real and personal, personnel and records of     |
|---|---|
| 2 | the RMTU, as well as the liabilities or obligations, are hereby     |
| 3 | transferred to the University: Provided, That the positions, rights |
| 4 | and security of tenure of the faculty members and personnel therein |
| 5 | employed under existing laws prior to the renaming shall be         |
| 6 | respected: Provided, further, That the incumbents of the positions  |
| 7 | shall remain in the same status until otherwise provided for by the |
| 8 | Board: Provided, finally, That the University shall also include an |
| 9 | upgrade or increase in its human resource component.                |
|   |   |

All parcels of land belonging to the government occupied by
the RMTU are hereby declared to be property of the University and
shall be titled under that name: *Provided*, That should the
University cease to exist or be abolished or should such parcels of
land be no longer needed by the University, the same shall revert to
the concerned local government unit (LGU) or to the Republic of the
Philippines, as the case may be.

SEC. 7. Sections 2, 3, 4, and 16 of Republic Act No. 8498 are deemed amended or modified accordingly.

SEC. 8. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,