SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE) REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)

Second Regular Session

SENATE

)

P.S. Res. No. 564

17 DEC -6 P4:56

Introduced by Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri

RECEIVE / L

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE RP BLU GIRLS FOR WINNING THE SILVER MEDAL AT THE 2017 WOMEN'S SOFTBALL ASIAN CHAMPIONSHIP HELD IN TAICHUNG, TAIWAN FROM 29 NOVEMBER TO 4 DECEMBER 2017

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines has, in several occasions, honored outstanding Filipinos for bringing pride and glory to the country by becoming victors in international sporting competitions;

WHEREAS, the Asian Women's Softball Championship is an international softball tournament involving participants from twelve Asian nations namely, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, India, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Pakistan, Singapore, Thailand, Chinese Taipei and the Philippines;

WHEREAS, the RP Blu Girls made the country proud when it bagged the silver medal in the 2017 Women's Softball Asian Championship held in Taichung, Taiwan from 29 November to 4 December 2017;

WHEREAS, by finishing second in this competition, the team assured the country of a slot in the 2018 Asian Games and the 2018 Women's Softball World Championship, the latter serving as a qualifier to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics;

WHEREAS, by emerging victorious in this international sports competition, the RP Blu Girls has made our country proud and has shown to the world the spirit of Filipino excellence and sportsmanship;

WHEREAS, this outstanding performance by the following Filipino athletes and their coaching team deserves to be commended for the honor and recognition they have brought to our country:

PLAYERS

- 1. Francesca Altomonte
- 2. Mary Joy Lasquite
- 3. Mary Ann Antolihao
- 4. Mia Macapagal
- 5. Angelie Ursabia
- 6. Riflayca Basa
- 7. Ezra Jalandoni
- 8. Royevele Palma
- 9. Arriane Vallestero

- 10.Danielle Lindsey Gilmore
- 11.Chelsea Suitos
- 12.Kailee Cuico
- 13.Kayla Joyce
- 14. Hailey Decker
- 15.Reese Guevarra
- 16.Skylynne Ellazar
- 17.Garnet Agnes Blando

COACHING TEAM

- 1. Ismael Veloso III
- 2. Venerando Dizer
- 3. Ana Maria Santiago
- 4. Ronrlon Pagkaliwagan
- 5. Anthony Santos
- 6. Francis Carlos Diaz

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend the RP Blu Girls for winning the silver medal at the 2017 Women's Softball Asian Championship held in Taichung, Taiwan from 29 November to 4 December 2017.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI