SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Second Regular Session



'17 DEC 13 P2:26

SENATE

COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 216

72V:

Re: House Bill No. 5367

Recommending its approval with amendments.

Sponsor: Senator Angara

MR. PRESIDENT:

The Committees on Local Government; and Electoral Reforms and People's Participation, to which was referred House Bill No. 5367, introduced by Representative Luis "Jon-Jon" A. Ferrer IV, entitled:

"AN ACT REAPPORTIONING THE SIXTH AND SEVENTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS OF THE PROVINCE OF CAVITE TO CREATE AN ADDITIONAL LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT TO BE KNOWN AS THE EIGHTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE PROVINCE OF CAVITE"

have considered the same and have the honor to report it back to the Senate with the recommendation that it be approved with the following amendments:

- 1. On Page 1, delete Section 1, and in lieu thereof, insert a new Section 1 to read as follows:
 - Section 1. Section 1 of Republic Act 9727 is hereby amended to read as follows:
 - "Section 1. Legislative Districts. The Province of Cavite, which shall have [seven (7)] EIGHT legislative districts to commence on the next national AND LOCAL elections after the effectivity of this Act, is hereby reapportioned as follows:

FIRST LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) Cavite City
- (2) Kawit
- (3) Noveleta
- (4) Rosario

SECOND LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

(1) Bacoor

THIRD LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

(1) Imus

FOURTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

(1) Dasmariñas

FIFTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) Carmona
- (2) General Mariano Alvarez (GMA)
- (3) Silang

SIXTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

(1) GENERAL TRIAS CITY

SEVENTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) TRECE MARTIRES CITY
- (2) INDANG
- (3) TANZA
- (4) AMADEO

EIGHT LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) TAGAYTAY CITY
- (2) ALFONSO
- (3) GENERAL AGUINALDO
- (4) MAGALLANES
- (5) MARAGONDON
- (6) MENDEZ
- (7) NAIC
- (8) TERNATE"
- 2. On page 2, delete Section 2.
- 3. Renumber the succeeding sections accordingly.

4. The title of House Bill No. 5367 shall be amended to now read as follows:

"AN ACT AMENDING SECTION 1 OF REPUBLIC ACT 9767, REAPPORTIONING THE PROVINCE OF CAVITE INTO EIGHT LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS"

Respectfully submitted:

SONNY ANGARA Chairperson

Committee on Local Government

LEILA DE LIMA

Chairperson

Committee on Electoral Reforms & People's Participation

VICE CHAIRS:

RISA HONTIVEROS

WIN GATCHALIAN

FRANCIS "KIKO" PANGILINAN

GRÉGORIO B. HONASAN ÎI

JOEL VILLANUEVA

JUAN MIGUEL "MIGZ" ZUBIRI

MA. LOURDES NANCY S. BINAY

JOSEPH VICTOR G. EJERCITO

RICHARD GORDON

MEMBERS:

LOREN LEGARDA

 \sim

PAOLO BENIGNO "BAM" AQUINO

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO

GRACE POE

ANTONIO "SONNY" F. TRILLANES IV

EMMANUEL "MANNY" D. PACQUIAO

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS:

FRANKLIN M. DRILON Minority Leader

RALPH G. RECTO President Pro-Tempore VICENTE C. SOTTO III

Majority Leader

Hon. AQUILINO "KOKO" L. PIMENTEL III Senate President

CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS First Regular Session

2

3

7

8

9

10

11

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 5367

BY REPRESENTATIVES FERRER (L.), LOYOLA AND TOLENTINO, PE COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 188	R
AN ACT REAPPORTIONING THE SIXTH AND SEVENT LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS OF THE PROVINCE OF CAVITE TO CREATE AN ADDITIONAL LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT TO BE KNOWN AS THE EIGHTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE PROVINCE OF CAVITE	O
Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines is Congress assembled:	n
SECTION 1. Reapportionment of the Sixth and Seventh Legislativ	ve
Districts The Sixth and Seventh Legislative Districts of the Province	
Cavite are hereby reapportioned to create the Eighth Legislative District a	
follows:	
(a) The Sixth Legislative District shall be composed of the City of	of
General Trias;	
(b) The Seventh Legislative District shall be composed of the City of	of
Trece Martires, and the municipalities of Amadeo, Tanza and Indang; and	
(c) The Eighth Legislative District shall be composed of the City of	of
Tagaytay, and the municipalities of Alfonso, General Emilio Aguinaldo	

Magallanes, Maragondon, Mendez, Naic and Ternate.

1	SEC. 2. Commencement of Reapportioned Legislative Districts. — Th
2	reapportioned legislative districts under Section 1 hereof shall commence i
3	the next national and local elections after the effectivity of this Act.
4	SEC. 3. Incumbent Representatives The incumbent Representative
5	of the Sixth and Seventh Legislative Districts of the Province of Cavite shall
6	continue to represent their respective legislative districts until the new
7	Representative shall have been elected and qualified.
8	SEC. 4. Rules and Regulations The Commission on Elections shall
9	issue the necessary rules and regulations within thirty (30) days upon the
10	approval of this Act.
11	SEC. 5. Repealing Clause Republic Act No. 9727 and all other
12	laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby
13	repealed, amended or modified accordingly.
14	SEC. 6. Effectivity This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after
15	its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.
	Approved,