SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES *Third Regular Session* 



SENATE

)

)

P. S. RES No. \_\_\_\_\_\_882

"18 SEP -6 P5:32

Introduced by Senator Paolo Benigno "Bam" A. Aquino IV

## RESOLUTION COMMENDING EIGHT OUTSTANDING FILIPINO SCIENTISTS FOR BEING AMONG THE HONOREES OF THE 2018 EDITION OF "ASIAN SCIENTIST 100"

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines, on several occasions, has paid
 tribute to talented Filipinos who brought pride and prestige to the country;

WHEREAS, in March 2018, eight notable Filipinos were recognized as among
the honorees of the "Asian Scientist 100," namely, Dr. Rogel Mari Sese, Jeffrey S.
Perez, Dr. Mario Antonio L. Jiz II, , Dr. Philip A. Alviola, Dr. Nathaniel P. Hermosa II,
Dr. Lanndon A. Ocampo, Dr. Lucille V. Abad, and Dr. Aletta Concepcion T. Yñiguez;

7 WHEREAS, "Asian Scientist 100" (AS100) is based on the handpicked 8 selection of researchers, academicians, innovators, and business leaders in Asia, 9 recognizing their invaluable contributions to the various industries of science and 10 technology. Moreover, AS100 is released annually by an award-winning Science and 11 Technology magazine, called the Asian Scientist Magazine that highlights research 12 and development news stories from Asia to the global community;

WHEREAS, to be recognized as an honoree of AS100, one must have
 received a national or international prize in 2017 for scientific research or leadership;

WHEREAS, Honoree Dr. Rogel Mari Sese, a University of the Philippines (UP)
 Alumni and the leader of the country's National SPACE (Space Promotion,
 Awareness, and Capabilities Enhancement) Development Program gained his spot in

1

AS100 for his commendable contributions in the field of astrophysics and as an advocate of space research and development;

-

20 WHEREAS, Honoree Jeffrey S. Perez of the Philippine Institute of 21 Volcanology and Seismology was recognized for his contribution to the better 22 understanding of fault lines and earthquakes in the Philippines. In 2017, he was 23 selected as Outstanding Young Scientist (OYS) by the National Academy of Science 24 and Technology (NAST);

WHEREAS, Honoree Dr. Mario Antonio L. Jiz II of the Immunology Department of the Research Institute for Tropical Medicine was also among the 27 2017 OYS awardees of the NAST for his substantial contribution in schistosomiasis 28 research and vaccine development;

WHEREAS, Honoree Dr. Philip A. Alviola of the UP Los Baños Institute of Biological Sciences and an NAST OYS awardee in 2017, has been recognized for his research contributions on wildlife studies;

WHEREAS, Honoree Dr. Nathaniel P. Hermosa II of the UP National Institute of Physics is awardee of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) in the field of physics and also a 2017 NAST OSY awardee. He was recognized for his research on the fundamental properties of light and light-matter interactions;

WHEREAS, Honoree Dr. Lanndon A. Ocampo of the University of San Carlos
 has received the 2017 NAST OSY award for his significant contributions in theory
 and in practice of manufacturing sustainability and risk analysis;

WHEREAS, Honoree Dr. Lucille V. Abad of the Philippine Nuclear Research Institute earned the Julian A. Banzon Medal in 2017 for her work focusing on radiation-modified carrageenan as food supplement for plants to further promote growth;

43 **WHEREAS,** Honoree UP Marine Science Institute Professor Dr. Aletta 44 Concepcion T. Yñiguez was among the recipients of the 2017 NAST OSY for her 45 research work on marine biology and fisheries. In 2012, Dr. Yñiguez was also one of

2

the two Filipina scientists who received a grant under the For Women in Science (FWIS) program of cosmetics firm L'Oreal and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) for her research on harmful algal blooms (HABs);

50 WHEREAS, the eight honorees have brought honor and glory to the country 51 through their notable contributions and admirable commitment in the field of science 52 and technology;

53 **WHEREAS,** providing support and giving honor to our Filipino academicians, 54 scientists, researchers and inventors is proper in order to further encourage them in 55 their initiatives to improve the lives of Filipinos through various applications of 56 science and technology;

57 **NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** as it is hereby resolved by the 58 Senate of the Philippines, to commend eight outstanding Filipino Scientists for being 59 among the honorees of the 2018 edition of "Asian Scientist 100."

Adopted,

• •

.

Bam aquin