SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)
Third Regular Session)



SENATE S. B. No. <u>2005</u>

'18 SEP 12 P7:05

Introduced by Senator SONNY ANGARA



AN ACT OFFICIALLY CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF PANDAG IN THE PROVINCE OF MAGUINDANAO

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Municipality of Pandag in the Province of Maguindanao was originally created on November 27, 2006 through Muslim Mindanao Autonomy Act (MMAA) No. 203 of the Regional Legislative Assembly of the Autonomous Region for Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) pursuant to the provisions under the MMAA No. 25, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of the ARMM.

For eighteen (18) years of existence, the Municipality of Pandag—composed of eight (8) barangays, namely: Kabuling, Kayaga, Kayupo, Lepak, Lower D'lag, Malangit, Pandag and Upper D'lag—did not receive Internal Revenue Allotment (IRA) share from the Department of Budget and Management. It was only entitled to financial aid from the ARMM.

This bill seeks to officially recognize the Municipality of Pandag in the Province of Maguindanao, by virtue of law, to qualify them to receive IRA share. This shall enable them to effectively and efficiently deliver basic services, and to formulate their own development programs and goals towards the promotion of public health, safety, environmental, social and general welfare.

For the people of Pandag, who deserve all the assistance and services from the national government, the immediate approval of this bill is earnestly sought.

SONNY ANGARA

SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)
Third Regular Session)

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9



SENATE S. B. No.2005

'18 SEP 12 P7:05

Introduced by Senator SONNY ANGARA



AN ACT OFFICIALLY CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF PANDAG IN THE PROVINCE OF MAGUINDANAO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- Section 1. Creation of Municipality of Pandag. There is hereby created a municipality to be known as Municipality of Pandag in the Province of Maguindanao.
- Sec. 2. Seat of Municipal Government. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in Barangay Malangit.
- Sec. 3. *Territorial Boundaries.* The Municipality of Pandag with a total land area of eight thousand five hundred thirty-one point forty-three (8,531.43) hectares, shall be composed of Barangays Pandag, Kabuling, Kayaga, Kayupo, Lepak, Malangit, Lower D'lag and Upper D'lag, all in the Province of Maguindanao and is particularly described as follows:

LINE	BEARINGS	DISTANCE
1-2	S24′50E	4,500.00 m
3	S45′06W	5,705.00 m
4	S40′00W	2,000.07 m
5	N48′17W	10,240.00 m
6	S84'42W	3,730.24 m
7	N35′00W	3,000.00 m
7-1	N55′40W	20,000.00 m

Sec. 4. Conduct and Supervision of Plebiscite The plebiscite conducted and			
supervised by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) pursuant to Muslim			
Mindanao Autonomy Act No. 203 of the Regional Legislative Assembly of the			
Autonomous Region for Muslim Mindanao, which enacted the creation of the			
Municipality of Pandag on November 22, 2006 and ratified on December 30, 2006			
shall serve as a substantial compliance with the plebiscite requirement under Section			
10 of Republic Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the "Local			
Government Code of 1991".			

- Sec. 5. *Incumbent Municipal Officials.* The incumbent municipal officials of the Municipality of Pandag, Province of Maguindanao shall continue to hold office until such time that their successors have been duly elected and qualified.
- Sec. 6. *Public Infrastructure and Facilities*. All public infrastructure and facilities for public use existing therein at the time of the approval of this Act are hereby transferred without cost or compensation to and shall be administered by the new municipality.
- Sec. 7. *Internal Revenue Allotment Shares.* The Municipality of Pandag shall be entitled to Internal Revenue Allotment shares pursuant to Section 285 of Republic Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the "Local Government Code of 1991".
- Sec. 8. Effectivity Clause. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,