SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session)



19 FEB -4 P6:37

SENATE P.S. Res. No. <u>1012</u>

RE.



INTRODUCED BY SENATOR JOSEPH VICTOR G. EJERCITO

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING YOUNG MEN (TOYM) 2018 AWARDEES FOR THEIR SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE WELFARE OF THE COUNTRY

WHEREAS, the Philippine Jaycees, Inc is an organization which contributes to the advancement of the global community by providing young persons with the opportunity to develop leadership skills, social and fellowship for positive change;

WHEREAS, The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) was initiated by the Manila Jaycees as a chapter project in 1959;

WHEREAS, over the years, the TOYM Awards has become an annual project of the Junior Chamber International (JCI)-Philippines, and co-presented by PLDT, Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc and the TOYM Foundation, Inc, and has developed a reputation for its selectiveness of outstanding young men upon whom the awards are conferred;

WHEREAS, the 2018 Awardees who came from the fields of economic development, public service, law enforcement, public health, journalism, education, among others have showed great dedication and commitment not just in enriching their profession but more so the well-being of their countrymen and the country as a whole;

WHEREAS, eleven (11) exemplary awardees were formally selected in 2018 and joined the ranks of 492 former awardees as Outstanding Young Men and Women of the Philippines;

WHEREAS, the Senate, as an expression of its support to the youth and nation-building, joins the Junior Chamber International (JCI)-Philippines, PLDT,

Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc and the TOYM Foundation, in commending and honoring the Awardees through this recognition;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Philippines to congratulate and commend The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) 2018 Awardees, namely:

- 1. Dr. Nassef Manabilang Adiong International Relations
- 2. Ms. Jamela Aisha Martinez Alindogan International Journalism
- 3. Ms. Cherrie De Erit Atilano Agri-business
- 4. Mr. Karl Kendrick Tiu Chua Economic Development
- 5. Mr. Bernard Faustino La Madrid Dy Public Service
- 6. Mr. Rodne Rodiño Galicha Environmental Conservation
- 7. Ms. Fatima Peñones Ibias-Lanuza Law Enforcement
- 8. Dr. Erika Fille Tupas Legara Education Innovation
- 9. Dr. Katerina Tolentino Leyritana Public Health
- 10. Dr. Mark Anthony Santiago Sandoval Medicine
- 11. Mr. Jaton Zulueta Jr. Coomunity Development

RESOLVED FURTHER, that copies of the Resolution be furnished to the aforementioned Awardees.

Adopted,

SENATOR JOSEPH VICTOR G. EJERCITO