SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Third Regular Session



SENATE

19 MAY 23 P12:05

	(\
	RECEITED BY.
COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 696	
	.1

Submitted jointly by the Committees on Local Government; and Electoral Reforms and Peoples Participation on ________.

Re: House Bill No. 8206

Recommending its approval with amendments.

Sponsor: Senator Angara

MR. PRESIDENT:

The Committees on Local Government; and Electoral Reforms and People's Participation to which were referred **House Bill No. 8206**, introduced by Representatives Fernando V. Gonzalez, Jose Antonio "Kuya Jonathan" R. Sy-Alvarado and John Marvin "Yul Servo" C. Nieto, entitled:

"AN ACT SEPARATING THE SITIO OF LA MEDALLA FROM BARANGAY

CARATAGAN IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF PIO DURAN, PROVINCE OF ALBAY,

AND CONSTITUTING IT INTO A DISTINCT AND INDEPENDENT BARANGAY TO

BE KNOWN AS BARANGAY LA MEDALLA"

have considered the same and have the honor to report it back to the Senate with the recommendation that it be approved with the following amendments:

1. Delete lines 5-12 of page 1 and lines 1-2 of page 2 or the whole Section 2 and in lieu thereof, insert a new Section 2 to read as follows:

"SEC. 2. TERRITORIAL BOUNDARIES. – THE TERRITORIAL BOUNDARIES OF BARANGAY LA MEDALLA SHALL BE IDENTIFIED AS FOLLOWS:

Line	Direction	Adjoining Lots/Features
BBM-65	N	FLORES, PIO DURAN
BBM 65-BBM 17	NE	BINODEGAHAN, PIO DURAN
BBM 17-BBM 18-		
BBM 11-BBM 12	SE	CARATAGAN, PIO DURAN
BBM 12-BBM 16	SW	BANAWAN, PIO DURAN
BBM 16	W	MARIGONDON, PIO DURAN
BBM 16-BBM 65	NW	PANGANIRAN, PIO DURAN

The Technical Description of Barangay La Medalla is as follows:

Line		Bea	ring		Distance
Tie Point: ABY 3399	(PRS'92), PIO D	URAN, A	ALBAY	
Tie Point-BBM 11	N.	38°	27′	W.	481.62 m.
BBM 11-BBM 12	S.	45°	41'	W.	995.71 m.
BBM 12-BBM 16	Ν	61°	16′	W.	1,836.35 m.
BBM 16-BBM 65	N.	03°	11'	E.	2,820.17 m.
BBM 65-BBM 17	S.	43°	22′	E.	2,679.41 m.
BBM 17-BBM 18	S.	43°	51'	W.	160.23 m.
BBM 18-BBM 11	S.	24°	58′	E.	1,036.33 m.

Containing an area of 4,730,000 square meters, more or less."

- 2. On page 2, line 4, after the name "Caratagan", insert the phrase "ON NOVEMBER 21, 1993".; and
- 3. Still on page 2, lines 7-8, after the name "La Medalla", delete the phrase "as proclaimed by the Plebiscite Board of Canvassers on November 21, 1993".

Respectfully submitted:

SÓNNY ANGARA

Chairperson

Committee on Local Government

AQUILINO "KOKO" PIMENTEL III

Chairperson

Committee on Electoral Reforms & People's Participation

VICE CHAIRS:

RISA HONTIVEROS

WIN GATCHALIAN

JOSEPH VICTOR G. EJERCITO

RICHARD GORDON

FRANCIS "KIKO" PANGILINAN

MEMBERS:

GREGORIO B. HONASAN II

LOREN LEGARDA

JOEL VILLANUEVA

CYNTHIA VILLAR

EMMANUEL "MANNY" D. PACQUIAO

PAOLO BENIGNO "BAM" AQUINO IV

MA. LOURDES NANCY S. BINAY

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO

GRACE POE

ANTONIO "SONNY" F. TRILLANES IV

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS:

FRANKLIN M. DRILON Senate Minority Leader JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI Senate Majority Leader

Senate President Pro-Tempore

Hon. VICENTE C. SOTTO III

Senate President

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 8206

By Representatives Gonzalez, Sy-Alvarado and Nieto, per Committee Report No. 852

AN ACT SEPARATING THE SITIO OF LA MEDALLA FROM BARANGAY CARATAGAN IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF PIO DURAN, PROVINCE OF ALBAY, AND CONSTITUTING IT INTO A DISTINCT AND INDEPENDENT BARANGAY TO BE KNOWN AS BARANGAY LA MEDALLA

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- SECTION 1. The sitio of La Medalla is hereby separated from
- 2 Barangay Caratagan in the Municipality of Pio Duran, Province of
- 3 Albay, and constituted as a distinct and independent barangay to be
- 4 known as Barangay La Medalla.
- SEC. 2. The territorial boundaries of Barangay La Medalla are described as follows:

7	LINE	BEARING	DISTANCE
8	Tie Point-BBM 11	N 38°27′ W	481.62 meters
9	BBM 11 – BBM 12	S 45°41' W	995.71 meters
10	BBM 12 – BBM 16	S 61°16' W	1,836.35 meters
11	BBM 16 – BBM 65	N 03°11' E	2,820.17 meters
12	BBM 65 - BBM 17	S 43°22' E	2,679.41 meters

I	BBM 17 - BBM 18 S 43°51' W 160.23 meters
2	BBM 18 - BBM 11 S 24°58' E 1,036.33 meters
3	SEC. 3. The plebiscite conducted and supervised by the
4	Commission on Elections (COMELEC) in Barangay Caratagan
5	pursuant to Provincial Ordinance No. 09-93, Series of 1993 of the
6	Sangguniang Panlalawigan of the Province of Albay which ratified
7	the creation of Barangay La Medalla as proclaimed by the Plebiscite
8	Board of Canvassers on November 21, 1993 shall serve as
9	substantial compliance with the plebiscite requirement under
10	Section 10 of Republic Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known
11	as the "Local Government Code of 1991".
12	SEC. 4. The incumbent elected barangay officials of Barangay
13	La Medalla shall continue to hold office until such time that their
14	successors have been duly elected and qualified.
15	SEC. 5. All public infrastructure and facilities for public use
16	existing therein at the time of the approval of this Act are hereby
17	transferred without cost or compensation to and shall be
18	administered by the new Barangay La Medalla.
19	SEC. 6. Barangay La Medalla shall be entitled to Internal
20	Revenue Allotment (IRA) share pursuant to Section 285 of Republic
21	Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the "Local
22	Government Code of 1991".
23	SEC. 7. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its
24	publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general
25	circulation.