EIGHTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session



SENATE

)

)

)

P.S. Res. No. 863

INTRODUCED BY: SENATOR EMMANUEL D. PACQUIAO

A RESOLUTION

HONORING ALL FILIPINO ATHLETES WHO REPRESENTED THE COUNTRY FOR THEIR SIGNIFICANT PARTICIPATION AND EXEMPLARY PERFORMANCE IN THE 2020 SUMMER OLYMPICS HELD IN TOKYO, JAPAN

WHEREAS, the Olympics is an international sporting event where athletes of different countries throughout the different continents would participate in a variety of competitions. It is considered as the world's biggest sports competition;

WHEREAS, the 2020 Summer Olympics was held in Tokyo, Japan from July 23 to August 8, 2021;

WHEREAS, in the 2020 Summer Olympics, a total of 11,690 athletes from all over the world represented their country in different sports categories;

WHEREAS, the 19 athletes who represented the country, with the support of their coaches and families, have done their best in their significant participation and have demonstrated exemplary performance and sportsmanship throughout the various athletic events. The 19 athletes are:

- 1. Elreen Ann Ando Weightlifting
- 2. Kurt Bryan Barbosa Taekwondo
- 3. Hidilyn Diaz Weightlifting
- 4. Margielyn Didal Skateboarding
- 5. Luke Gebbie Swimming
- 6. Kristina Marie Knott Athletics
- 7. Irish Magno Boxing
- 8. Eumir Marcial Boxing
- 9. Cris Nievarez Rowing
- 10. Ernest John Obiena Athletics
- 11. Carlo Paalam Boxing
- 12. Bianca Pagdanganan Golf
- 13. Juvic Pagunsan Golf

Nesthy Petecio – Boxing
Remedy Rule – Swimming
Yuka Saso – Golf
Jayson Valdez – Shooting
Kiyomi Watanabe – Judo
Carlos Edriel Yulo – Artistic Gymnastics;

WHEREAS, these athletes have exhibited unwavering resolve and sheer determination in bringing pride and honor to the country;

WHEREAS, all athletes, as well as their coaches and training staff, deserve to be honored for their hard work, dedication, passion, and perseverance in representing the Philippines in the 2020 Olympics;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines honor all Filipino athletes who represented the country for their significant participation and exemplary performance in the 2020 Summer Olympics held in Tokyo, Japan.

Adopted,

