CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES NINETEENTH CONGRESS First Regular Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 6583

BY REPRESENTATIVES ECLEO, FERRER (J.M.), CO (E.), QUIMBO, ACIDRE, ALBANO, PALMA, SUAREZ, ALVAREZ (J.), AQUINO, ARENAS, BAUTISTA-LIM, BONGALON, CAJAYON-UY, CELESTE, CUARESMA, ESPINA, GO (E.C.), GONZAGA, HARESCO, LOYOLA, MATUGAS, MOMO, NAVA, SINGSON (R.V.), TIANGCO, UMALI, VIOLAGO, YU (D.G.), ZUBIRI, ABALOS, ADIONG, ADVINCULA, ALMARIO, AMANTE, ANG, ASISTIO, AUMENTADO, BASCUG, BOSITA, BUSTOS, CHATTO, COJUANGCO (J.), CRUZ (A.), CRUZ (R.), DAGOOC, DIONISIO, EUDELA, FORTES, FRESNEDI, GARCIA (D.), GARCIA (M.A.), GARDIOLA, GO (M.), GOLEZ, GUTIERREZ, HERNANDEZ, KHONGHUN, LAGON (D.), LAGON (S.), LAZATIN, LEE, LEGARDA, LUISTRO, MACEDA, MANGAOANG, MASTURA, MATIBAG, NOGRALES (M.I.), OUANO-DIZON, PADUANO, PANALIGAN, PANCHO, PLEYTO, REVILLA (R.J.), RODRIGUEZ (E.), SAKALURAN, SALI, SANTOS, TAN (J.), TANCHAY, TULFO (J.), VARGAS, VERGARA, VERZOSA, YAP (C.), ENVERGA, GASATAYA, MARIANO-HERNANDEZ, MARIÑO, MARQUEZ, MIGUEL, ROQUE, VILLAFUERTE (L.R.), SAULOG AND YAP (C.T.), PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 230

AN ACT

CREATING THREE (3) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT IN THE TENTH JUDICIAL REGION TO BE STATIONED IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN JOSE, PROVINCE OF DINAGAT ISLANDS, AND TWO (2) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE MUNICIPAL TRIAL COURT IN THE TENTH JUDICIAL REGION TO BE STATIONED IN THE MUNICIPALITIES OF SAN JOSE AND BASILISA, PROVINCE OF DINAGAT ISLANDS, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14 (K) AND SECTION 30 OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS 'THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980', AS AMENDED

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Three (3) additional branches of the Regional Trial Court and two (2) additional branches of the Municipal Trial Court in the Tenth Judicial Region are hereby created and stationed in the Province of Dinagat Islands as follows:

- (a) Three (3) branches of the Regional Trial Court in the Municipality of San Jose;
- (b) One (1) branch of the Municipal Trial Court in the Municipality of San Jose; and

(c) One (1) branch of the Municipal Trial Court in the Municipality of Basilisa.

 The Supreme Court shall assign the respective branch numbers for the newly created branches of the Regional Trial Court and the Municipal Trial Court.

THE EXISTING MUNICIPAL CIRCUIT TRIAL COURT (MCTC) OF SAN JOSE-DINAGAT-BASILISA-CAGDIANAO (RIZAL) STATIONED IN SAN JOSE SHALL BE DECIRCUITIZED. THE DECIRCUITIZED MCTC SHALL BE DENOMINATED AS MCTC DINAGAT-CAGDIANAO.

SEC. 2. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in coordination with the Secretary of the Department of Justice, shall immediately include in the Court's program the operationalization of the additional branches of the Regional Trial Court and the Municipal Trial Court in the Municipalities of San Jose and Basilisa, Province of Dinagat Islands. THE SUPREME COURT SHALL ISSUE THE NECESSARY RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR THE EFFECTIVE IMPLEMENTATION OF THIS ACT AND, IF WARRANTED, THE REALIGNMENT OF SEATS OF EXISTING BRANCHES AND THEIR TERRITORIAL JURISDICTION.

SEC. 3. The funds necessary for the implementation of this Act, including appropriations for personnel services such as salaries, benefits and emoluments for judges and court personnel, court operations under maintenance and other operating expenses (MOOE), and provisions for Halls of Justice or courtrooms to accommodate judges and court staff, AS WELL AS FUNDS NECESSARY FOR THE IMPLEMENTATION OF AUTOMATICALLY-CREATED PROSECUTOR POSITIONS PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 10071 OR THE "PROSECUTION SERVICE ACT OF 2010" AND APPOINTMENT OF PUBLIC ATTORNEYS PURSUANT TO SECTION 7 OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9406 OR THE "ACT REORGANIZING AND STRENGTHENING THE PUBLIC ATTORNEY'S OFFICE (PAO)", RESULTING FROM THE CREATION OF THESE COURTS, INCLUDING APPROPRIATIONS FOR PERSONNEL SERVICES SUCH AS SALARIES, BENEFITS, AND EMOLUMENTS FOR PROSECUTORS AND PUBLIC ATTORNEYS, shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.

THE FUNDS NECESSARY FOR THE OPERATION OF THE COURTS HEREIN CREATED SHALL BE APPROPRIATED AND RELEASED ONLY UPON THE ACTUAL ORGANIZATION OF THE COURT AND THE APPOINTMENT OF ITS PERSONNEL.

SEC. 4. THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT OF SAN JOSE, DINAGAT ISLAND WILL HAVE FOUR (4) BRANCHES. THE STAFFING PATTERN OF EACH BRANCH SHALL BE AS FOLLOWS:

NO. OF	POSITION TITLE	SG
POSITIONS		
1	REGIONAL TRIAL COURT JUDGE	29
1	CLERK OF COURT V	24
1	COURT LEGAL RESEARCHER II	15
1	INTERPRETER III	12
4	COURT STENOGRAPHER III	12
1	SHERIFF IV	12
2	CLERK III	6
1	PROCESS SERVER	5
1	UTILITY WORKER I	1
13	PERSONNEL	

THE STAFF COMPLEMENT OF THE NEW OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF COURT (OCC) SHALL BE COMPOSED OF FIFTEEN (15) PERSONNEL, WHILE THE DATA ENTRY MACHINE OPERATOR (DEMO) FROM THE ORIGINAL RTC WILL BE TRANSFERRED TO THE OCC, UNLESS MODIFIED AS DETERMINED BY THE SUPREME COURT.

IN ADDITION, THERE SHALL BE APPOINTED THE CORRESPONDING NUMBER OF PROSECUTOR/S AND PUBLIC ATTORNEY/S AND THEIR SUPPORT STAFF BASED ON THE RATIO OUTLINED IN REPUBLIC ACT NO. 10071 AND REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9406, RESPECTIVELY.

SEC. 5. THE MUNICIPAL TRIAL COURT IN THE PROVINCE OF DINAGAT ISLAND WILL HAVE ONE (1) BRANCH STATIONED IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN JOSE AND ONE (1) BRANCH IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF BASILISA. THE STAFFING PATTERN OF EACH BRANCH SHALL BE AS FOLLOWS:

NO. OF	POSITION TITLE	SG
POSITIONS		
1	MUNICIPAL TRIAL COURT JUDGE	28
1	CLERK OF COURT I	15
1	INTERPRETER I	8
3	COURT STENOGRAPHER I	8
1	CLERK II	4
1	JUNIOR PROCESS SERVER	3
1	UTILITY WORKER I	1
9	PERSONNEL	

SEC. [4] 6. Section 14 (k) and Section 30 of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980", as amended, and all other laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.

SEC. [**5**] 7. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,