The state of the s

NINETEENTH CONGRESS REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session	) )	23 OCT 26 P4:02
SENATE		RECE SOCI
P.S. Res. No	843	-
Introduced by Senator Mar	ria Lourdes Nan	cy S. Binay

## **RESOLUTION**

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING RHEYJEY ORTOUSTE, JASON HUERTE, VINCE TORNO, MARK JOSEPH GONZALES, RONSITED GABAYERON AND JOM LERRY RAFAEL FOR WINNING BRONZE IN SEPAK TAKRAW MEN'S QUADRANT EVENT IN THE 19<sup>th</sup>ASIAN GAMES

**WHEREAS**, the Philippine Senate has always recognized and paid tribute to outstanding Filipinos for their remarkable achievements in international sports competitions;

**WHEREAS**, in the 19th Asian Games held in Hangzhou, China, the Philippine sepak takraw team was represented by the following athletes, namely:

- 1. Rheyjey Ortouste
- 2. Jason Huerte
- 3. Vince Torno
- 4. Mark Joseph Gonzales
- 5. Ronsited Gabayeron
- 6. Jom Lerry Rafael;

**WHEREAS**, on October 3, 2023, the team made its mark for thecountry when it clinched a bronze medal during the men's quadrant tournament at the Jinhua Sports Centre Gymnasium in China;

**WHEREAS**, during the preliminaries, the Philippine team defeated Japan, South Korea, India, and Singapore;

**WHEREAS**, after the eliminations, the squad of Ortouste, Huerte, Torno and Gonzales advanced to the semifinals and faced the Indonesian team with the scores of 21-15, 24-25, 17-21;

**WHEREAS**, it was a remarkable victory for the Philippine Sepak Takraw Federation Inc., as it marks the country's first podium breakthrough in the sport in 33 years when it was first included in Asiad in 1990. The victory is a significant milestone for the team showcasing the talent of Filipino athletes on the international stage;

**WHEREAS,** this bronze medal winis a testament to the hard work, determination, and talent of the athletes, who captured the historic medal despite rigid competition. The squad's performance was certainly a breakthrough bringing honor, pride and joy to the country and paving the way for future Filipino sepak takraw athletes;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED,** that the Senate of the Philippines congratulates and commends Rheyjey Ortouste, Jason Huerte, Vince Torno, Mark Joseph Gonzales, Ronsited Gabayeron and Jom Lerry Rafael forwinning bronze in sepak takraw men's quadrant eventin the 19<sup>th</sup> Asian Games.

Adopted,

Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay