FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

roca si

SENATE

INTRODUCED BY HON. MANNY VILLAR

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE FIVE FILIPINO FIGHTERS WHO WON THE 2007 BOXING WORLD CUP

WHEREAS, on 12 August 2007 in Sacramento U.S.A., five (5) Filipino fighters posted remarkable victories against Mexican boxers to claim the 2007 Boxing World Cup;

WHEREAS, Jerry Peñalosa defeated Jhonny Gonzalez in seven rounds to claim the World Boxing Organization bantamweight title. It was the second world crown for Peñalosa, written off years back as a has-been after capturing the WBC super flyweight crown of Japan's Hiroshi Kawashima in 1997 in Tokyo;

WHEREAS, Diosdado Gabi of Davao City prevailed by unanimous decision over Jose Angel Beranza in an eight-rounder;

WHEREAS, Michael Domingo scored a unanimous six-round decision over previously unbeaten Miguel Roman;

WHEREAS, Z Gorres conquered the former WBC lightflyweight titlist Eric Ortiz by technical knockout in the eighth round to capture the IBP Intercontinental super flyweight crown;

WHEREAS, A. J. Banal stopped Jorge Cardenas in the third round of a six-rounder;

NOW, THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE PHILIPPINES, to commend the Filipino boxers who won in the 2007 Boxing World Cup for contributing to the pride and honor of the global Filipino.

Adopted.

MANNY VILLAR