JATUR OF THE SECRETARY

13TH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC)
OF THE PHILIPPINES)
Third Regular Session)

6 AUG 16 72.5

SENATE

NECEIVED BY:

Jun ...

S. BILL NO. 2442

Introduced by Senator Ralph G. Recto

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The First District of Leyte comprises the Municipalities of Alangalang, Babatngon, Palo, San Miguel, Sta. Fe, Tanaua, Tolosa and the City of Tacloban, the capital of the province and the acknowledged Regional Center of Region 8. The request for two additional branches is to address the growing demand for the immediate resolution of cases which presently clog the docklets and slow down the dispensation of justice in the area. The Leyteños deserve expenditous resolutions of their legal problems.

The density of cases being distributed among the five (5) courts is contributory to the slow disposition of cases and to the administration of justice in general. Hence, this bill seeks to create two (2) additional Regional Trial Court branches in the Eighth Judicial Region in Eastern Visayas, particularly in the City of Tacloban, Province of Leyte, in addition to the five (5) branches thereof in the First District of the aforementioned province.

It is hoped that this proposal will greatly reduce the burden of the existing courts. In view thereof, the immediate passage of this bill is earnestly sought.

ALPH GARECTO

13TH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC)
OF THE PHILIPPINES)
Third Regular Session)

6 NUS 16 PRIL

SENATE

: RECEIVED BY: __W.

s. BILL NO. _____2442

Introduced by Senator Ralph G. Recto

AN ACT CREATING TWO ADDITIONAL REGIONAL TRIAL COURT BRANCHES IN THE PROVINCE OF LEYTE TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF TACLOBAN, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14, PARAGRAPH (I) OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980, AS AMENDED, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR

Be enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 14, paragraph (i) of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise known as the "Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980", as amended, is hereby further amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 14. Regional Trial Courts. -

 $\mathbf{x} \quad \mathbf{x} \quad \mathbf{x}$

"(e) [Forty-one] **FORTY-THREE** Regional Trial Court Judges shall be commissioned for the Eight Judicial Region. There shall be:

"x x x

[Seventeen] NINETEEN branches with seats thereat for the Province of Leyte, the [Sub-p] Province of Biliran, and the Cities of Ormoc and Tacloban, with seats at Tacloban City, Abuyog, Calubian, Ormoc City, Carigara, Baybay, Burauen, Naval, Palompon, Hilongos, and Caibiran;

"x x x."

SEC. 2. The Supreme Court shall assign the two additional branches of the Regional Trial Court in the City of Tacloban, Province of Leyte in accordance with this Act.

SEC. 3. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in coordination with the Secretary of the Department of Justice shall immediately include in the court's program the operationalization of the additional Regional Trial Court branches in the Province of Leyte, with station at the City of Tacloban, the funding of which shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved,