ANATE THE SECRETARY

THIRTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Third Regular Session

5 AUG 22 3 12 1

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. <u>547</u>

Introduced by Senator S. R. Osmeña III

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2006

WHEREAS, the teaching profession is universally regarded as among the noblest of all professions and is the key in molding the minds of entire generations of Filipinos;

WHEREAS, notwithstanding all kinds of hardships like low salaries and benefits that usually do not arrive on time and dismal situation of school buildings, teaching materials and equipment, the Filipino teachers remain steadfast in their duty and dedicated in their task of imparting to our young;

WHEREAS, despite the importance of teaching in the country's quest for progress and development, the efforts of our teachers in educating our youth remain largely unacknowledged and oftentimes overlooked;

WHEREAS, in tribute to the country's unsung patriots, the Metrobank Foundation through its annual Search for Outstanding Teachers has in the last twenty-two (22) years given honor to teachers who have been shining examples of unstinting dedication and commitment to the teaching profession;

WHEREAS, in honor of the heroic efforts of our teachers in general, and of those who have been chosen by the Metrobank Foundation as the ten (10) Outstanding Teachers of 2006, namely:

- MRS, RUTH L. GELVEZON West Visayas State University, Iloilo City
- 2. MRS. EVELYN M. KIMPO Banga Elementary School, Aklan
- 3. MRS. EDITHA R. BANGUILAN
 Cabagan Science Elementary School, Isabela
- 4. MRS. OFELIA L LOÑOZA
 Lucena North I Elementary School, Lucena City

- 5. MRS. OLIVIA E. CALING Ramon Magsaysay High School, Manila
- 6. MR. GELLY E. ALKUINO Ireneo Santiago National High School of Metro Dadiangas, General Santos City
- 7. MRS. ISABEL S. EMAN
 San Policarpio National High School, Calbayog City
- 8. MR. AMBETH R. OCAMPO Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City
- 9. DR. RAQUEL B. DEL ROSARIO-FORTUN University of the Philippines, Manila
- 10. DR. SOLEDAD M. ROGUEL Central Luzon State University, Science City of Muñoz

due recognition for their efforts should be conferred upon them: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, to commend our teachers and the abovenamed awardees for their exemplary competence, dedication to service and commitment in providing quality education.

Adopted,

A. NEWA N SERGIO OSMEÑA III

Senator