THIRTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session

6 AUE 22 2,

L VATE VATE SECRETARY

## SENATE

)

)

RECEIVED RY : ..

P. S. Res. No. 543

## Introduced by Senator Franklin M. Drilon

## RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2006

WHEREAS, we recognize that the Filipino teachers whose heroic dedication to their profession has earned for teaching our utmost respect as the noblest of all professions;

WHEREAS, ten (10) of the country's educators have been chosen in the annual search for outstanding teachers by the Metrobank Foundation;

WHEREAS, Metrobank Foundation has, for the past 22 years, given recognition to some of our country's educators through its annual search for outstanding teachers;

WHEREAS, we similarly give honor to the teaching profession and recognize these Filipino teachers who have been chosen for devoting their lives to the development of the youth with exemplary competence and dedication;

WHEREAS, the dedication of our outstanding teachers to their profession is even more remarkable when we consider the difficulties and hardships under which most of them work and the attractions of other jobs and career opportunities;

WHEREAS, the teaching profession now presents more challenges as our teachers are called upon to build a generation of Filipinos able to compete in the new global economy—an economy driven by the forces of technology and knowledge by the winds of rapid change in an increasingly borderless world;

WHEREAS, we join the pursuit for excellence in education by commending the country's best mentors who can be upheld as models not only for educators but for other members of the community as well;

WHEREAS, in recognizing the outstanding qualities and contributions of these teachers, countless other teachers all over the country can be inspired to achieve excellence in the teaching profession : Now, therefore, be it

**Resolved**, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate commend 10 outstanding teachers chosen by Metrobank Foundation, namely:

MRS. RUTH L. GELVEZON West Visayas State University, La Paz, Iloilo City

MRS. EVELYN M. KIMPO Banga Elementary School, Banga, Aklan

MRS. EDITHA R. BANGUILAN Cabagan Science Elementary School, Cabagan, Isabela

MRS. OFELIA L. LOÑOZA Lucena North I Elementary School, Brgy. 1, Lucena City

MRS. OLIVIA E. CALING Ramon Magsaysay High School – Manila, España, Manila

MR. GELLY E. ALKUINO Irineo L. Santiago National High School of Metro Dadiangas, General Santos City

MRS. ISABEL S. EMAN San Policarpo National High School, Calbayog City

> MR. AMBETH R. OCAMPO Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City

DR. RAQUEL B. DEL ROSARIO-FORTUN University of the Philippines-Manila

DR. SOLEDAD M. ROQUEL Central Luzon State University, Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija

for their exemplary competence, dedication to service, and commitment in providing quality education.

Adopted,

N M. DRILON Senator