THIRTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session

6 SEP -4 A10:29

NECEIVED BY :___

SENATE

S. B. No. 2451

INTRODUCED BY HON. MANNY VILLAR

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This bill seeks to constitute the City of San Fernando in the Province of Pampanga into a lone congressional district separate and distinct from the Third District of Pampanga.

Currently, the City of San Fernando is part of the Third district of Pampanga along with the municipalities of Arayat, Bacolor, Mexico and Sta. Ana. Based on the 2000 census of population conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO), the City of San Fernando has a population of 221,857 with an average annual growth rate of 3.46%. Hence, by the time this bill takes effect, should it be passed into a law, the City of San Fernando would have a sizeable constituency far more than the population requirement of at least two hundred fifty thousand (250,000) as prescribed by the Constitution.

The proposed bill provides that the representative first elected to the position for the new district of the City of San Fernando may serve for three *consecutive* terms as allowed by the Constitution regardless of the term or terms he shall have served in the Third District in the same capacity. This is only proper and logical since a congressional term that is attached to a new district should be deemed as an original term and may not, therefore, be considered an extension of the term served in what would now be another congressional district.

This measure is advantageous not only to the City of San Fernando, but also to the remaining municipalities of the Third District of Pampanga. On one hand, various congressional-allocated projects through the Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF) can be implemented exclusively for the benefit and welfare of the constituents of the Lone District of the City of San Fernando. On the other, the PDAF projects for the Third District of Pampanga shall be dedicated to and divided amongst the four remaining municipalities, namely, Aravat, Bacolor, Mexico and Sta. Ana.

Approval of this bill is earnestly requested, as it is envisioned to further spur the development of the City of San Fernando as the heart and the center of trade in Central Luzon.

MANNY VILLAR

THIRTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Third Regular Session

6 SEP -4 A10:29

SENATE

HECEIVED BY

S. B. No. 2451

INTRODUCED BY HON, MANNY VILLAR

AN ACT

CONSTITUTING THE CITY OF SAN FERNANDO IN THE PROVINCE OF PAMPANGA INTO A LONE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The City of San Fernando in the Province of Pampanga is hereby constituted into a lone Congressional District separate and distinct from the Third District of Pampanga. The Municipalities of Bacolor, Mexico, Sta. Ana and Arayat shall constitute to form part of the Third District of the Province of Pampanga.

SECTION 2.- The Lone District of the City of San Fernando shall consist of all existing barangays within its political jurisdiction.

SECTION 3.- The election of the first Representative/Congressman for the Lone District of the City of San Fernando shall coincide with the national elections to be held in 2007.

SECTION 4.- This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after completion of its publication in the Official Gazette or in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved.