•	١	ŗ	***	di.	ç	
<b>`</b> ,				1	÷.	,
		-	*		1.1	

OFFICE OF

ment yen

SENATE

THE SECRETAS

### THIRTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC } OF THE PHILIPPINES } Third Regular Session }

SENATE

# COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 135

Submitted jointly by the Committees on Justice and Human Rights and on Finance on 10 0CT 2006

Re : House Bill No. 4739

Recommending its approval without amendment.

Sponsor : Senator Enrile

## **MR. PRESIDENT:**

The Committees on Justice and Human Rights and on Finance to which was referred House Bill

No. 4739, introduced by Representatives Datumanong, Salceda and Susano, entitled:

"AN ACT CREATING AN ADDITIONAL REGIONAL TRIAL COURT BRANCH IN SHARIFF AGUAK, MAGUINDANAO AND TWO MUNICIPAL TRIAL COURT IN CITIES BRANCHES IN COTABATO CITY, AMENDING FOR THIS PURPOSE SECTIONS 14 (M) AND 29 OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980, AS AMENDED, AND PROVIDING FUNDS THEREFOR"

have considered the same and have the honor to report it back to the Senate with the recommendation that

it be approved without amendment.

Respectfully submitted:

Chairmen:

JUAN PONCE ENRILE

Committee on Justice and Human Rights Member, Committee on Finance

FRANKLIN M. DRILON Committee on Finance Member, Committee on Justice and Human Rights

**RAMON FONG REVILLA JR.** Committee on Justice and Human Rights Committee on Finance

RICHARD J. GORDON Committee on Justice and Human Rights Committee on Finance

Members:

COMPANERA PAS. CAYETANO Committee on Justice and Human Rights

JINGGOY EJERCITO ESTRADA

Committee on Justice and Human Rights

ALFREDO S. LIM

Committee on Justice and Human Rights Committee on Finance

RALPH G

Committee on Finance

MIRIAM DEFENSOR SANTIAGO Committee on Finance

/ JR. RAMON B. MAGS Committee on Finance

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID Committee on Finance

ARDO J. ANGARA

Committee on Finance

M.A. MADRIGAL Committee on Justice and Human Rights Committee on Finance

JOKER P. ARROYO Committee on Finance

ton

RODOLFO G. BIAZON Committee on Finance

MAR A. ROXAS

Committee on Finance

SERGIO OSMEÑA III Committee on Finance

PANFILO M. LACSON Committee on Finance

OI" P. EJERCITO ESTRADA LUISA

Committee on Finance

JUANNI. FLAVIER President Pro-Tempore

**Ex-Officio Members:** 

FRANCIS N. PANGILINAN Majority Leader

AQUILINO Q. PIMENTEL JR. Minority Leader

Hon. MANNY VILLAR President Senate of the Philippines Pasay City

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### H. No. 4739

BY REPRESENTATIVES DATUMANONG, SALCEDA AND SUSANO

AN ACT CREATING AN ADDITIONAL REGIONAL TRIAL COURT BRANCH IN SHARIFF AGUAK, MAGUINDANAO AND TWO MUNICIPAL TRIAL COURT IN CITIES BRANCHES IN COTABATO CITY, AMENDING FOR THIS PURPOSE SECTIONS 14(M) AND 29 OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980, AS AMENDED, AND PROVIDING FUNDS THEREFOR

#### Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- 1 SECTION I. Section 14(m) of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise
- 2 known as the Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980, as amended by Republic
- 3 Act No. 7154, is hereby further amended to read as follows:
- 4 "SEC. 14. Regional Trial Courts. -
- 5 x x x
- 6 (m) x x x There shall be:
- 7 x x x

1	x x x
2	[Three] FOUR branches with seats thereat for the Province
3	of Maguindanao and the City of Cotabato, with seats at Cotabato
4	City and [Maganoy] SHARIFF AGUAK, MAGUINDANAO;
5	x x x."
6	SEC. 2. Section 29 of the same law is hereby further amended to read
7	as follows:
8	"SEC 29. Municipal Trial Courts in cities In every city
9	which does not form part of a metropolitan area there shall be a
10	Municipal Trial Court with one branch except as hereunder
. 11	provided:
12	x x x
13	THREE BRANCHES FOR COTABATO CITY;
14	x x x."
15	SEC. 3. The jurisdiction over cases cognizable by a Regional Trial
16	Court and Municipal Trial Court in Cities under existing laws, emanating from
17	the municipalities of Shariff Aguak, Ampatuan, Mamasapano, Talayan,
18	Guindulungan, Talitay, South Upi, Datu Abdullah Sangki, Datu Saudi, Datu
19	Piang, Datu Unsay, Sultan sa Barongis, Rajah Buayan, Salipada K. Pendatun,
20	Paglat, Buluan, Datu Paglas, Datu Montawal, and Pagalungan shall be lodged