Press Release
December 12, 2017

Villar SIPAG honors 21 outstanding cooperatives for their poverty reduction strategies

TWENTY-ONE outstanding cooperatives nationwide were recognized by the Villar Social Institute for Poverty Alleviation and Governance (SIPAG) of Sen. Cynthia A. Villar, former Senate President Manny Villar and DPWH Sec. Mark Villar, for their exemplary poverty reduction strategies.

Each of the cooperatives recieved P250,000 as seed money to start a new business or expand their existing projects and customized Villar SIPAG bamboo trophy specially made by the Samahan ng mga Mang-uukit ng Paete.

The awarding ceremony was held at the VIillar SIPAG hall at C5 Extension Road, Brgy. Pulanglupa Uno, Las Pinas City.

More than 220 cooperatives joined the search for the 2017 Villar SIPAG Awards, of which, 21 cooperatives were selected based on their projects' effectiveness, significance, financial viability, sustainability and adaptability.

"We take our hats off to these cooperatives for the wonderful jobs that they do and for all their efforts in helping reduce poverty in our country, particularly in the countryside," Sen. Villar said.

The 21 cooperatives that made the cut are the following:


  • Don Bosco Technical Vocational Education and Training Center, Tondo, Manila

  • Mapag-ampon Parish Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Putatan, Muntinlupa City


  • Treasure Link Cooperative Society, Sagada, Mountain Province

  • Tabuk Farmers Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Tabuk City, Kalinga

  • Sto. Domingo Development Cooperative, Sto. Domingo, Ilocos Sur

  • Wesley Savings and Multi-Purpose Cooperative, San Isidro, Isabela

  • Mother Rita Multi-Purpose Governance Structure, Candelaria, Zambales


  • Padre Garcia Development Cooperative, Pansol, Padre Garcia, Batangas

  • Tuy and Community Multi-Purpose Cooperative, TMPC Village, Brgy. Luna, Tuy, Batangas

  • Mindoro Progressive Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Mamburao, Occidental Mindoro

  • Pecuaria Development Cooperative, Bula, Camarines Sur

  • Pinoy Lingap - Damayan Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Virac, Catanduanes


  • Libacao Development Cooperative, Libacao, Aklan

  • Buenavista Development Cooperative, Buenavista, Guimaras

  • Fairchild Cebu Community Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu

  • Sts. Peter & Paul Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Southern Leyte


  • Goodyear Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Zamboanga Sibugay

  • Agdao Multi-Purpose Cooperative, BO. Obrero, Davao City

  • Adventurers Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Polomolok, South Cotabato

  • Agusan Del Norte Teachers, Retirees, Employees and Community Cooperative, Butuan City

  • Alrahman Farmers Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Mamasapano, Maguindanao

The Villar SIPAG Awards for Poverty Reduction began on August 2013 in recognition of the exemplary achievements of community enterprises to help local economic development af lives of the members of their community.

News Latest News Feed