H. No. 6030

Republic of the Philippines **Congress of the Philippines** Metro Manila Seventeenth Congress Third Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-third day of July, two thousand eighteen.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 11185]

AN ACT INTEGRATING THE CEBU CITY MOUNTAIN EXTENSION CAMPUS AS A SATELLITE CAMPUS OF THE CEBU TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9744, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS "AN ACT CONVERTING THE CEBU STATE COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY SYSTEM IN THE CITY OF CEBU AND ALL ITS SATELLITE CAMPUSES LOCATED IN THE PROVINCE OF CEBU INTO A STATE UNIVERSITY TO BE KNOWN AS THE CEBU TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY (CTU) AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR"

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 1 of Republic Act No. 9744 is hereby amended to read as follows:

"SECTION 1. Conversion. - The Cebu State College of Science and Technology System in the City of Cebu, including all its existing satellite campuses, namely: the College of Fisheries in the Municipality of Moalboal, the Agro-industrial and Forestry College in the Municipality of Argao, the Polytechnic College in the Municipality of Tuburan, the College of Fisheries in the Municipality of Daanbantayan, the Fishery and Industrial College in the Municipality of San Francisco, the College of Industrial Technology in the Municipality of Danao, the College of Fisheries Technology in the Municipality of Carmen, the Abellana College of Arts and Trades in the City of Mandaue, the College of Agriculture in the Municipality of Barili (previously located in Sudlon, Lahug, Cebu City) and the Experimental Station in the Municipality of Sibonga, all municipalities located in the Province of Cebu, is hereby converted into a state university to be known as the Cebu Technological University (CTU), hereinafter referred to as the University. The Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus in Barangay Babag, Cebu City, Province of Cebu, is integrated as a satellite campus of the Cebu Technological University. It shall be known as the Cebu Technological University - Cebu City Mountain Satellite Campus. The main campus of the University shall be in Cebu City."

SEC. 2. Section 19 of Republic Act No. 9744 is hereby amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 19. Assets, Liabilities and Personnel. – All assets, real and personal, personnel and records of the Cebu State College of Science and Technology System, and its satellite campuses, namely: the College of Fisheries in the Municipality of Moalboal, the Agro-industrial and Forestry College in the Municipality of Argao, the Polytechnic College in the Municipality of Tuburan, the College of Fisheries in the Municipality of Daanbantayan, the Fishery and Industrial College in the Municipality of San Francisco, the College of Industrial Technology in the Municipality of Danao, the College of Fisheries Technology in the Municipality of Carmen, the Abellana College of Arts and Trades in the City of Mandaue, the College of Agriculture in the Municipality of Barili (previously located in Sudlon, Lahug, Cebu City) and the Experimental Station in the Municipality of Sibonga, including the Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus, as well as liabilities or obligations, are hereby transferred to the University. The positions, rights and security of tenure of faculty members and personnel therein employed under existing laws prior to the conversion into a University shall be respected.

"All parcels of land belonging to the government occupied by the Cebu State College of Science and Technology System and its satellite campuses, including the Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus, are hereby declared to be property of the University, and shall be titled under that name: *Provided*, That should the University cease to exist or be abolished or should such parcels of land aforementioned be no longer needed by the University, the same shall revert to the LGUs concerned."

SEC. 3. Section 20 of the same Act is hereby amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 20. Appropriations. – The amount necessary to carry out the provisions of this Act shall be charged against the curent year's appropriations of the Cebu State College of Science and Technology System, including all its existing satellite campuses, namely: the College of Fisheries in the Municipality of Moalboal, the Agro-industrial and Forestry College in the Municipality of Argao, the Polytechnic College in the Municipality of Tuburan, the College of Fisheries in the Municipality of Daanbantayan, the Fishery and Industrial College in the Municipality of San Francisco, the College of Industrial Technology in the Municipality of Danao, the College of Fisheries Technology in the Municipality of Carmen, the Abellana College of Arts and Trades in the City of Mandaue, the College of Agriculture in the Municipality of Barili (previously located in Sudlon, Lahug, Cebu City) and the Experimental Station in the Municipality of Sibonga, except the sums needed to continue the operations of the existing high schools. Thereafter, such sums as may be necessary for the continued operation and maintenance of the Cebu Technological University shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act. The amount necessary to carry out the initial implementation of the integration of the Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus into the University shall be charged against the current year's funding of the Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus provided by the City of Cebu. The City shall continue to provide the same funding to the Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus corresponding to the funding given before the same is integrated into the University until such time that the full funding requirement of the Cebu Technological University - Cebu City Mountain Satellite Campus is included in the annual General Appropriations Act."

SEC. 4. *Effectivity.* – This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved.

VICENTE C. SOTTO III President of the Senate GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on October 10, 2018.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA Secretary of the Senate

DANTE ROBERTO P. MALING Adting Secretary General House of Representatives

Approved: JAN 1 0 2019







0