Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Seventeenth Congress

Third Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-third day of July, two thousand eighteen.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 11444]

AN ACT DECLARING JULY 4 OF EVERY YEAR A SPECIAL WORKING HOLIDAY IN THE ENTIRE PROVINCE OF BOHOL, TO BE KNOWN AS "FRANCISCO DAGOHOY DAY" IN HONOR OF FRANCISCO DAGOHOY, A NATIVE OF BOHOL AND LEADER OF THE LONGEST PHILIPPINE REVOLT ON RECORD THAT LASTED FOR EIGHTY-FIVE (85) YEARS DURING THE SPANISH ERA

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. July 4 of every year is hereby declared a special working holiday in the entire Province of Bohol, to be known as "Francisco Dagohoy Day" in honor of Francisco Dagohoy, a native of Bohol and leader of the longest Philippine revolt on record that lasted for eighty-five (85) years during the Spanish era. Upon proclamation of the President, July 4 of every year shall be a special nonworking holiday in the entire Province of Bohol.

SEC. 2. The Department of Education Regional Office shall plan and implement activities for the holiday and ensure that Francisco Dagohoy's legacy of courage and patriotism is given emphasis so as to encourage the youth to continue the good values and patriotism demonstrated by Francisco Dagohoy.

Moreover, to ensure a meaningful observance of the holiday as herein declared, all heads of local government units and instrumentalities, including government-owned and -controlled corporations, and employers in the private sector shall encourage and afford sufficient time and opportunities for their employees to engage and participate in any activity conducted within the premises of their respective offices or establishments to celebrate the "Francisco Dagohoy Day".

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

7/

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

GLORIA MACAPAGAL ARROYO

Speaker of the House

of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was passed by the House of Representatives on December 4, 2017, amended by the Senate of the Philippines on June 3, 2019, and which amendments were concurred in by the House of

Representatives on June 4, 2019.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA Secretary of the Senate DANTE ROBERTO P MALING
Acting Secretary General
House of Representatives

Approved: AUG 2 8 2019

RODRIGO ROA DUTERTE

