Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Fourteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-seventh day of July, two thousand nine.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9919]

AN ACT SEPARATING THE ABRA HIGH SCHOOL—MUDENG ANNEX IN BARANGAY MUDENG, MUNICIPALITY OF LA PAZ, PROVINCE OF ABRA FROM THE ABRA HIGH SCHOOL, CONVERTING IT INTO AN INDEPENDENT NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL TO BE KNOWN AS MARC YSRAEL B. BERNOS MEMORIAL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Separation and Conversion into a National High School. – The Abra High School – Mudeng Annex in Barangay Mudeng, Municipality of La Paz, Province of Abra is hereby separated from the Abra High School and converted into an independent national high school to be known as Marc Ysrael B. Bernos Memorial National High School.

SEC. 2. Transfer of Assets and Liabilities. — All personnel, assets, liabilities and records of the Abra High School — Mudeng Annex are hereby transferred to and absorbed by the Marc Ysrael B. Bernos Memorial National High School.

- SEC. 3. Appropriations. The Secretary of Education shall immediately include in the Department's program the operationalization of the Marc Ysrael B. Bernos Memorial National High School, the initial funding of which shall be charged against the current year's appropriations of the Abra High School Mudeng Annex. Thereafter, the amount necessary for the continued operation of the school shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.
- SEC. 4. *Implementation*. The Secretary of Education shall issue rules and regulations that may be necessary to carry out the purpose of this Act.
- SEC. 5. Effectivity. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official Gazette.

Approved,

President of the Senate

PROSPERO C. NOGRALES

beaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on December 3, 2008 and September 30, 2009, respectively.

EMMA LIRIO-KEYES Secretary of the Senate MARILYN B. BARUA-YAP Secretary General House of Representatives

Approved:

JAN 0.7 2010

GLORIA MACAPAGALARROYO

President of the Philippines

