Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Fourteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-seventh day of July, two thousand nine.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9961]

AN ACT SEPARATING THE LAAK NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL – MELALE ANNEX IN BARANGAY MELALE, MUNICIPALITY OF LAAK, PROVINCE OF COMPOSTELA VALLEY FROM THE MAIN LAAK NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL, CONVERTING IT INTO AN INDEPENDENT NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL TO BE KNOWN AS MELALE NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Separation and Conversion into a National High School. — The Laak National High School — Melale Annex in Barangay Melale, Municipality of Laak, Province of Compostela Valley is hereby separated from the Main Laak National High School and converted into an independent national high school to be known as Melale National High School.

SEC. 2. Transfer of Assets and Liabilities. — All personnel, assets, liabilities and records of the Laak National High School — Melale Annex are hereby transferred to and absorbed by the Melale National High School.

- SEC. 3. Appropriations. The Secretary of Education shall immediately include in the Department's program the operationalization of the Melale National High School, the initial funding of which shall be charged against the current year's appropriations of the Laak National High School—Melale Annex. Thereafter, the amount necessary for the continued operation of the school shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.
- SEC. 4. Implementation. The Secretary of Education shall issue rules and regulations as may be necessary to carry out the purpose of this Act.

SEC. 5. Effectivity. - This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official Gazette.

Approved,

JUAN FONCE ENRILE
President of the Senate

PROSPERO C. NOGRALES
Speaker of the House

of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on September 2, 2008 and October 12, 2009, respectively.

EMMA LIRIO-KEYES Secretary of the Senate MARILYN B. BARUA-YAP
Secretary General
House of Representatives

Approved:

JAN 15 2010

GLORIA MACAPAGAI ARROYO

President of the Philippines



