Press Release
May 6, 2014

Senate commends 9 outstanding women

The Senate adopted a resolution commending the winners of the 2013 Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service (TOWNS), sponsored by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Metrobank Card Corporation.

Senate Resolution 376 was adopted in consideration of Senate Resolution 386, authored by Senators Lito Lapid and Nancy Binay respectively. The resolution recognizes the contributions of the awardees in shaping the country's future and promoting economic, social and cultural development.

The awardees are Kristin Karen Davila for Media, Maria Rachelle Gerodias for Performing Arts, Ma. Amihan Ramolete for Theater Arts, Noraida Karim for Social Work , Eleanor Pinugu for Sodal Entrepreneurship and Education, Ani Karina de Leon- Brown for Sports, Gemma Nerisma for Atmospheric Science, Maricor Soriano for Applied Physics , and Atty. Darlene Berberabe for Government Service.

Davila is a broadcast journalist for ABS-CBN while Gerodias is a voice professor at the University of Santo Tomas. On the other hand, Ramolete is an associate professor of the University of the Philippines - Diliman while Karim is deputy director for Philippine Programe of Community and Family Services International (CFSI). Pinugu is the executive director of the Mano Amiga Academy, Inc.; Brown is the race director for the IRONKIDS PHILIPPINES Sun Rise Events Inc., sporting event; Nerisma is an associate professor of the Ateneo de Manila University; Soriano is a professor at the University of the Philippines - Diliman while Berberabe is the president and chief executive officer of the Home Development Mutual Fund (PAG-IBIG Fund).

Senate President Franklin Drilon thanked the women for "their undeniable efforts towards a building a stronger nation, and for serving as worthy inspiration to the millions of Filipinas who share the dream of a better and more prosperous Philippines."

The TOWNS award is granted to exemplary women every three years.

"This year's winners will join the ranks of remarkable women honored by the Foundation over the last 39 years and will automatically become members of TOWNS Foundation, Inc., which is a national organization "of dynamic and effective women who by their common shared activities help transform the lives of Filipinos," the Senate resolution stated.

The nine winners, chosen out of 51 nominees, went through a rigorous screening process and were selected by the board of judges headed by Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P.A. Sereno and members, Dr. William Padolina (renowned biologist, chairman of the board of Euro-Med Laboratories Philippines Inc., and former secretary of the Department of Science and Technology), Dr. Esperanza Cabral (former secretary of the Department of Health and the Department of Social Welfare and Development), Lilia de Lima (PEZA director general and chairman of the board), and Nestor Jardin (president of the Cinemalaya Foundation, Inc. and former President of the Cultural Center of the Philippines). (Olive Caunan)

News Latest News Feed