Press Release
June 30, 2019

Senators start to file pet bills Monday

While Congress will not bang the gavel until it convenes on July 22, filing of pet bills for the First Regular Session of the 18th Congress starts Monday, July 1.

In the past, staff members of senators started to line up on the eve of the first day of filing of bills and resolutions to get the principal authorship of a measure.

As per advisory from Senate Secretary Myra Marie Villarica, the sequence of filing of bills and resolutions for the incoming 18th Congress "shall be in accordance with the principle of seniority or length of service of each Senator."

In the case of senators with similar lengths of service, the drawing of lots was held last June 20.

For the first round of filing, which would be held from July 1 to 4, each senator could file up to 10 bills or resolutions. Each senator could file up to 10 additional bills or resolutions for the second round of filing on July 8 to 11.

For the third round of filing, the senators, on a "first-come, first-served" basis, may file any number of bills or resolutions.

"These guidelines, in consultation with the Office of the Senate President and concerned officers of the Legislative Department, are prescribed to prevent early and long queuing, conserve human resources and manpower, and maintain order within the Senate premises," Villarica said.

Based on seniority and length of service and the drawing of lots done by the Bills and Index Service, Senate President Vicente C. Sotto III, Senate Minority Leader Franklin Drilon. Sen. Panfilo Lacson, Sen. Francis Pangilinan and Senate President Pro-Tempore Ralph Recto, in that order, could file their first 10 bills or resolutions.

They will be followed by come-backing Sens. Manuel "Lito" Lapid, Pia Cayetano and Ramon "Bong" Revilla Jr., Sen. Richard Gordon, Sen. Aquilino Pimentel III and Senate Majority Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri.

Next would be re-elected Sens. Nancy Binay, Grace Poe, Juan Edgardo "Sonny" Angara Jr. and Cynthia Villar, and incumbent Sens. Joel Villanueva, Sherwin Gatchalian, Leila de Lima, and Manny Pacquiao.

The last would be newly-elected Sens. Christopher Lawrence "Bong" Go, Francis Tolentino, Imee Marcos and Ronald "Bato" dela Rosa.

News Latest News Feed