Senator Alan Peter "Compañero" S. Cayetano

Email: [email protected] / [email protected] / [email protected]

Biography | Resume

Meet Senator Alan

Senator Alan Peter S. Cayetano was only 13 years old when he was first exposed to public service. His father, the late Senator Renato “Compañero” Cayetano, was then elected Assemblyman representing Taguig, Pateros and Muntinlupa.

Having been raised under the tutelage of his father, a lawyer and a devoted public servant, he took interest in political science and enrolled at the University of the Philippines in Diliman where he eventually ran and won as a university councilor in the student council. Then inspired by his father’s preeminent standing as a lawyer, student Alan decided to pursue a degree in Law at the Ateneo de Manila University where he graduated as Silver Medallist and with a Second Honourable Mention. He was later admitted to the Philippine Bar in 1998.

It was the late Senator Rene’s values, principles, and dedication to public service that further inspired the young Alan to follow in his father’s footsteps. Having had the privilege of seeing his father consulting, meeting, and working with people from all walks of life, it was not difficult for him to decide on a lifetime advocacy and career in public service.

Batang Compañero

At age 22, Alan began his own journey as a public servant even while he was still in law school. He made history in Philippine politics as the youngest (and number one councilor) in that generation in the then Municipality (now City) of Taguig.

Three years later, he was elected Vice Mayor of Taguig, but his official proclamation took place only 10 days before his three-year term of office was due to end. It was then when public servant Alan realized that his political detractors would spare nothing to stop him in his advocacy for good governance. (His 2007 campaign for the senate was subjected to a similar attempt at depriving him of a political mandate.)

His frustrating and short-lived tenure as vice mayor in 1998 made him decide to seek a mandate to represent the people of Taguig as a Congressman for the Lone Congressional District of Taguig and Pateros. He won handily.

It did not take long for the country to notice Congressman Alan Peter Cayetano standing up in the halls of Congress debating with his elders. He was the “Batang Companero” in the opposition. He impressed his peers with his eloquence as a speaker and with his strong advocacy against graft and corruption in government.

Anti-corruption advocate

As the spokesman of the Impeachment Team that sought to hold President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo liable for stealing, lying and cheating, Congressman Alan began articulating the need for accountability and transparency in both local and national government.

As a freshman in the Senate in 2007, his known commitment and uncompromising stance towards graft and corruption made him an easy choice to chair two major Senate Committees – the Committee on Accountability of Public Officers (more popularly known as the Blue Ribbon Committee) and the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture. It was under his stewardship of the Blue Ribbon Committee when the graft-ridden NBN-ZTE deal was first investigated which led to the scrapping of the multi-million dollar project. He also steered the continuation of the Fertilizer Scam investigation and the Cash-giving Scandal in Malacañang Palace.

Proponent of People Empowerment

Senator Alan believes that to effectively fight corruption and strive for good governance, Filipinos must be empowered. To help realize this advocacy, he, as chairman of the Committee on Education, initiated the efforts to make educational loans and scholarships more responsive and easily accessible to deserving students even as he was steadfast in seeking more funding for basic and tertiary education, and for better compensation for public school teachers.

Under his stewardship, R.A. 9500, or the University of the Philippines Charter Act of 2008, was passed barely nine months after he assumed post.

Senator Alan again pursued his advocacy to empower Filipinos. In 2009, as chairman of the Committee on Public Information and Mass Media, he launched a campaign to make the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act become a law. He is convinced that once enacted into law, the measure shall provide the people improved access to information on matters of public concern in line with the mandate of the 1987 Constitution.

He moved closer towards succeeding in his quest for increased transparency and accountability in the government as this landmark legislation was approved on its 3rd reading and passed in the Senate during the 14th Congress.

Catalyst for a New Paradigm of Transparency and Accountability in Government In the 15th Congress (2010-2013), Senator Alan assumed the position of the Senate Minority Leader. In his present position of political leadership, Senator Cayetano has committed himself to lead a responsible opposition, as a catalyst and fiscalizer, in the halls of Senate.

The Minority Floor Leader continues his thrust towards transparency, accountability and good governance as shown in his filing of and determined push for the passage of the FOI bill, his active participation in the investigations pushing for the resolution of the poll fraud cases of 2004 and 2007, as well as his articulate and insightful manifestations that clarified points and ferreted out crucial admissions and information during the impeachment proceedings of then Chief Justice Renato Corona.

The Senate, through Adopted Resolutions No. 46 and 94, commended Senator Cayetano for his efforts as Minority Leader in championing the cause of orphaned, abandoned children and vulnerable workers, and for his astute inputs in the deliberations of crucial legislation and resolutions, in the First and Second Sessions of the 15th Congress.

Young Achiever

Senator Alan has always been among the youngest, if not the youngest, in his political sphere:

At 22, Alan was the Youngest Councilor of the country during his time

At 24, Alan was the Youngest

Vice-Mayor of the Municipality (now City) of Taguig

At 27, Alan was the Youngest Representative in the 11th Congress

At 36, Alan was the Youngest “Working” Senator in the 14th Congress

At 37, Alan has been the youngest Chair of the high profile Senate Blue Ribbon Committee

At 39, Alan has been one of the youngest contenders for the Senate Presidency

At 39, Alan is the youngest Minority Leader in the history of the Philippine Senate

At 39, Alan was recognized for his exemplary work in government and public service when he was awarded as one of the “Top Outstanding Young Men” in 2010.

back to top

17th Congress Senators